English Community

Special Interest DiscussionsGeneral Discussion
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

12-03-2011

Los Angeles, CA, USA

10 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-03-2011
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Views: 42
  • Message 1 of 6

My preloaded Microsoft Office 2010 Starter worked fine for a day or 2 and now won't open!!

2011-12-03, 1:58 AM

I have a brand new Lenovo B575 that I just got in the last few days, and now Microsoft Office 2010 Starter just sits there and gives me the message, "Microsoft Word Starter 2010 cannot be opened.  Try again or repair the product in Control Panel."  I already tried twice to repair it in the control panel and tried opening it not only by clicking on the file I want to open with it but also from the Start menu. 

 

I already asked about this on a Microsoft forum, and one response was that I must reinstall the program, which if no disc was included I should contact the OEM about.  There is no disc.  They say this program is supposed to be OEM-supported.

 

How may I reinstall the program, or what should I do?

Reply
Options

9605 Posts

12-27-2009

CA

3312 Signins

95273 Page Views

  • Posts: 9605
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 95273
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: My preloaded Microsoft Office 2010 Starter worked fine for a day or 2 and now won't open!!

2011-12-04, 20:33 PM
Try this:
Go into Services, stop the Print Spooler service, then try again.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-03-2011

Los Angeles, CA, USA

10 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-03-2011
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Views: 42
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: My preloaded Microsoft Office 2010 Starter worked fine for a day or 2 and now won't open!!

2011-12-05, 10:30 AM

Thank you for the suggestion, but I just tried it - Same result as before. 

Reply
Options

1944 Posts

05-17-2008

USA

4725 Signins

59404 Page Views

  • Posts: 1944
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 59404
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: My preloaded Microsoft Office 2010 Starter worked fine for a day or 2 and now won't open!!

2011-12-06, 7:14 AM
there should be a folder on the HDD that has the preloaded software in it............like thinkpads have a folder named SWTOOLs ,I don't know anything about the idea brand so you find that folder and you can reinstall office by running the setup file and or create product recovery disc and restore to factory settings



_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-03-2011

Los Angeles, CA, USA

10 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-03-2011
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Views: 42
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: My preloaded Microsoft Office 2010 Starter worked fine for a day or 2 and now won't open!!

2011-12-06, 14:44 PM

I couldn't find the file, but I did find a place to dowload the program from!

 

HOWEVER, even after uninstalling and reinstalling, when I click to open the program (I tried Word), it gets as far as where it says "processing...", and then it just sits there and still doesn't open all the way!  There's something else going on that's blocking it, and I don't know what that is.  Can someone help me with this?

 

I've been using Open Office as a substitute, and that actually works fine, but I want to be able to use the Microsoft program.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-03-2011

Los Angeles, CA, USA

10 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-03-2011
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Views: 42
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: My preloaded Microsoft Office 2010 Starter worked fine for a day or 2 and now won't open!!

2011-12-06, 14:47 PM

I would like to add some information - Even if I click "cancel" or the "x" while it's sitting there like that, it won't close either!  I had to use my computer's Task Manager to close it!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete