Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
Location: Seattle
Message 1 of 6 (2,669 Views)

Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

I am wanting a laptop for a Digital Audio Workstation.  My soundcard wants to see Firewire supported by the Texas Instruments chipset which is all over the net as being difficult to find. 

 

1.  Is there a laptop by lenovo that uses Texas Instruments chipset to support the firewire port?

 

2.  If so, is the port shared with anything else?

 

3.  Anyone using a leveno of any sort for a DAW. 

 

Thanks

 

Posts: 3,555
Topics: 28
Solutions: 282
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
Message 2 of 6 (2,652 Views)

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Can't answer number 1 or number 2 but for number 3 I'm using Audacity 1.2.6 in xp. There's a beta version for windows 7 but I haven't tried that yet.  The software is free.  I use it on an x41.  

 

I use it because precise adjustments can be made to the audio's speed while maintaining pitch in order to synchonize it with video, (Audacity calls it tempo) or run from a predetermined lenght of time.  I also couldn't do without the undo feature. 

 

It's not a resource hog at all in xp but as I understand it, in windows 7 you need 4 gb of ram and my x41 will only take 2 gb.

 

It also has support in linux. 



English Community   Deutsche Community   Comunidad en Español   Русскоязычное Сообщество

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please click the "Accept As Solution" button.

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,271
Solutions: 1,356
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 3 of 6 (2,628 Views)

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Most of the recent thinkpads that have Firewire use the Ricoh controller.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Posts: 2,421
Topics: 20
Kudos: 418
Solutions: 192
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: California, USA
Message 4 of 6 (2,619 Views)

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Hello,

 

Syba makes an ExpressCard to FireWire (IEEE-1394) adapters that uses a Texas Instruments chipset:

 

 

Note that they also make adapters with VIA's FireWire chipset, so make sure you order the correct one.

 

Lacie has a Firewire/800 card, too:  Firewire 800 ExpressCard 34.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
  Deutsche Community   Comunidad en Español Русскоязычное Сообщество
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
Location: Seattle
Message 5 of 6 (2,479 Views)

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Okay, this is a difficult search, so now I am wondering if any out there in the lenovo world knows if there bios will give them access to C1E or Powerstates manager, HPET (high precision event timer), and or SpeedStep?  This is for laptops only.

 

What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
Location: Guildford, UK
Message 6 of 6 (1,943 Views)

Re: Native Texas Instruments Chipset For Firewire Port

Hi,

 

I'm facing the same issue. I'm deciding which laptop to get and would love a thinkpad but I need TI firewire. Did you (OP) have any luck with your queries?

 

Thanks,

top kudoed authors