cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
imalek
Paper Tape
Views: 202
Message 1 of 3

Really frustrating repair experience - two protracted depot repairs in 4 months.

Hi everyone,

I was hoping someone on this forum could help me come to a resolution with my X1 Yoga that's been in depot repairs. For context, I'm a law student who uses their computer every day for note taking and at the end of the semester for exam writing. Becuase of that, I purchased the next business day on site repair option for 3 years because, well, a working computer is critical for me.

• I first had to send my laptop in to the depot for repairs back in November when a defective hinge caused the plastic around the hinge/screen to snap (I'll note that this defective hinge was installed when a technician came to fix my previous hinge, which was damaged as well).
  • The machine was in the depot for weeks, and repeated phone calls / website service checks just told me it was because of a "part not available" issue. I finally got the matter escalated and my escalation contact (shout out to the peerless John W, GREAT support rep) said that it was because the OLED screen wasn't available for the replacement. I said "Ok, what do we do instead?" John suggested that he can send me a re-built new generation machine with comparable specifications...but unfortunately that machine couldn't get to me for for another few weeks. In fact, the machine wouldn't have arrived until I'm right into my exam period.
  • John, the case manger who helped me out, was sympathetic and after I let him know of the timing issue and reminded of how long I've gone without a laptop that I paid a pretty penny for (plus warranty), he went above and beyond and sent me an upgrade X1 Yoga Gen 3 with even better specs than my Gen 2 that I sent for repairs.