Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Special Interest DiscussionsGeneral Discussion
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

07-12-2012

united states

2 Signins

39 Page Views

• Views: 39
  • Message 1 of 5

Too late for refund?

2012-07-12, 20:25 PM

Hi, 

I bought a lenovo laptop at the very end of January 2012 brand new.  I barely used it until this last month. The hard drive is dead, determined by the support center that I called. 

I sent in the laptop to be repaired, they said they would only pay for the Fed Ex labels to return it if I bought another year of support. I agreed (perhaps foolishly)...

Anyway, it's been about 5 months now, they said they will replace the hard drive, but I'm really scared to rely on the product now, I am a student, and have my own business and work for another business all involving web and computer related fields. 

Is there any way to get a refund on this??? Or is the 21 days sent in stone. If not, where do you think the best place to resell it is?

Any info is great. thanks

Options

1022 Posts

01-07-2011

Sacramento, CA

550 Signins

8462 Page Views

• Views: 8462
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Too late for refund?

2012-07-12, 20:54 PM

Why did you even send it in? They will send you out a replacement hard drive and you just install it and restore using the factory recovery disc set that you should have burned when you first got the machine. You also should have paid the extra ~$150 when you ordered the machine to upgrade to two years next business day on-site warranty with ThinkPad Protection (covered physical damage) if you cannot afford to be without the machine. I did when I ordered my ThinkPad and never had to use it, they are reliable machines. You should not blame the ThinkPad brand for a hard drive failure, hard drive failures are common. In fact I would just toss a Crucial M4 or Samsung 830 SSD in there and forget about it.

Options

3 Posts