cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bobbyt
Blue Screen Again
Views: 285
Message 1 of 1

Warranty Problems - 5 months later I still have a broken laptop, please help!

In December, my laptop starting resetting itself (still in warranty). Its now May, and Lenovo are still refusing to give me a refund or a replacement. I feel I've been very understanding and patient at all the slow failed attempts to deal with the problem, but I'm completely fed up now.

I'm a student, so having a reliable laptop is obviously really helpful, but I've spent many weeks of this year without a laptop whilst Lenovo have tried to repair it, and the rest of the time I've had a laptop that resets without warning which means I sometimes lose work even though I save my work regularly and back it up. 

In January, it was sent to be repaired, they replaced the hard drive, but the problem still kept happening when it came back in February. 
In February, it was sent to be repaired again. They couldn't replicate the problem so claimed it was working fine (even though I had sent evidence that it wasn't fine, each reset left reports in the reliability monitor about bug report 124 and that it was a hardware error). So they sent it back unchanged after several weeks. Lenovo told me if the problem was still happening that they would refund or replace it.
However, when I reported it still did happen, they said actually it was Lenovo's policy that there must be three failed repairs before they would do that.
So in March I sent it off again to be repaired, this time they acknowledged again there was a fault, but they just replaced the hard drive. If it happened before even after the hard drive was replaced, I don't understand how they thought changing the hard drive again would somehow fix the problem? No one at Lenovo has explained how this may have helped despite me asking, does anyone have any theories?