English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

07-21-2011

California

32 Signins

157 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎07-21-2011
  • Location: California
  • Views: 157
  • Message 21 of 95

Re: Unable to start safe mode

2011-08-13, 21:04 PM

I don't want to commandeer shlhu's thread but...

 

I was able to change my settings in safe mode. Within a day my setting are no longer working. It keeps reverting to battery runtime.

 

I have version 6.0.2.0 just downloaded from the support site.

Reply
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

CZ

9007 Signins

170449 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: CZ
  • Views: 170449
  • Message 22 of 95

Re: Unable to start safe mode

2011-08-14, 10:05 AM
@ dlost
which version of lenovo power management drivers you have in d:\drivers folder?


Due to my absence, I may not reply your posts and/or personal messages

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Options

1725 Posts

08-14-2011

USA

1886 Signins

25513 Page Views

  • Posts: 1725
  • Registered: ‎08-14-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 25513
  • Message 23 of 95

I fixed this issue by selecting "don't show this aga...

2011-08-14, 10:46 AM

I fixed this issue by selecting "don't show this again".

 

So far, so good.

Reply
Options

22 Posts

08-03-2011

USA

21 Signins

125 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎08-03-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 125
  • Message 24 of 95

Re: Unable to start safe mode

2011-08-15, 18:05 PM

Neither last know configuration nor the other forms (with networking/cmd) changed anything. Still restarts as soon as it reaches login in safe mode (normal mode works fine).

 

however, if this battery mode issue can be solved, I don't particularly care about the safe mode issue as I will do a system wipe as soon as windows 8 comes out (hopefully beginning of next year)...

 

Given dlost has tried safe mode, and I think we've made it pretty clear that we all have the latest 6.0.2.0, and i've already tried to reinstall from both the driver folder and from online... If you don't remember what we've asked, please check back instead of just posting the same question you've asked before.... 3 pages of posts is a lot to be dragging around to the same question on post 2. I understand you are busy, as you are the only one we have seen here and there are a lot to get through, but please realize saving time by responding thoughtlessly is only going to prolong these issues...

Reply
Options

8 Posts

07-21-2011

California

32 Signins

157 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎07-21-2011
  • Location: California
  • Views: 157
  • Message 25 of 95

Re: Unable to start safe mode

2011-08-16, 5:25 AM

shlhu,

 

Correct... and well said. Thank you.

 

While this is no way a satisfying solution, I have begun unplugging the computer each time I shut down, and my desktop reminds me to change my setting back to battery health each time I power up.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

08-18-2011

United Kingdom

4 Signins

8 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎08-18-2011
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 8
  • Message 26 of 95

Re: Unable to start safe mode

2011-08-18, 8:09 AM
Same problem here, glad to see I'm not alone heh.
Good point dlost show us:"...I wonder if this is Lenovo's way of having us wear out our battery, so we have to buy a new one. i would love a real answer to solve this also..."
I have ideapad s205 and my battery latches broke after 3 days of use. They are so small, easy to broke. Stupid idea!
Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 27 of 95

Re: Changing Default Energy Management Options...

2011-08-18, 9:07 AM
@Shlhu and the others,

For those who are having this issue, appreciate if you can drop me a private message with the following so I can get a case going with engineering.

Model Type:
Serial Number:
BIOS:
Lenovo Energy Management version:
Windows 7 Home / Pro / Ulti / Enterprise:
x86 / x64:
SP1:
RAM:

//JameZ
Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 28 of 95

Re: Changing Default Energy Management Options...

2011-08-19, 3:09 AM
Thanks Shlhu for the prompt PM.

Issue has been escalated to engineering to look into this.

//JameZ
Reply
Options

1 Posts

09-07-2011

UK

13 Signins

97 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-07-2011
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 97
  • Message 29 of 95

Re: Changing Default Energy Management Options...

2011-09-07, 10:30 AM

I'm having similar problems but have noticed something not yet commented upon.

 

The Problem

I set the management system by default to Best battery health as I normally keep it plugged in. However, when it is not plugged in, and the battery falls to a certain level it automatically changes to  Optimize for battery runtime.

 

Example:
1. As I write this my charge level is at 17%.
2. While plugged in and charging I set it to Best Battery Health.

3. I turn off the charger and I visually see the Energy Management scheme automatically changing to Optimize for Battery Runtime. (However this is only because I am looking at it; it normally happens without any visible warning that a change has occurred)

4. I try to change it back to Best Battery Health while unplugged but it will not accept my changes.

5. I turn the charger back on... but the Energy management scheme has not remembered my preferences and remains on Optimize for battery runtime, so I have to manually change it back.  I can only change it back when it is plugged in.

 

Conclusion

It appears that the Energy management scheme will automatically change to preserve Battery Runtime if batteries are low, but will not remember the users preferences. If the power is cut off even for a second and the batteries are low to start with then  the setting will change without users being aware.

 

Proposed solutions

1. Enable a popup that explains the settings have changed to alert users.

2. I  am happy that it automatically changes to Optimizing for Runtime when my batteries are low, however I want it to automatically revert to Best Battery Health when I plug it in again. Can we have default settings that work both ways.

3. In the help section explain that the setting will change when the battery falls to x?%, and then also that the setting will (hopefully) change back when the unit is plugged in. This will hopefully stop confusion.

 

Thanks, hope this contributes to solving the problem

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

09-07-2011

Canada

22 Signins

64 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎09-07-2011
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 64
  • Message 30 of 95

Re: Changing Default Energy Management Options...

2011-09-07, 16:45 PM

Hey, sorry to resurrect this thread but are we still pming JameZ with our specs?

 

voomby seems spot on but there was never a confirmation of implementation (in the works).

 

I have yet to try booting it into safe mode, but it appears the problem lies elsewhere.

 

Thanks

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete