cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
gardener
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-21-2014
Location: Fremont
Views: 2,243
Message 1 of 18

A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

 
lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 2,209
Message 2 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

can you switch hdmi input/output source on the touch sensitive strip? can you also adjust picture mode (i.e. document, movies, games, etc) using the touch sensitive bar?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
gardener
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-21-2014
Location: Fremont
Views: 2,196
Message 3 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

Nothing on the bottom will adjust. I can use touch screen in lieu of
keyboard and mouse.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 2,192
Message 4 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

Then you have a hardware problem.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
gardener
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-21-2014
Location: Fremont
Views: 2,148
Message 5 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

Forgove me for being naive. How do I fix this hardware problem.  In my pc settings on my charm bar I see the brightness icon with " Windows can not adjust brightness on this display"

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,125
Message 6 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

Hi gardener,

     Are you running Win 8.1? Download, and reinstall the OSD from here:

 

http://mobilesupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/desktops-and-all-in-ones/ideacentre-a-series-all-in-o...

 

If it's Win 7, then here:

 

http://mobilesupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/desktops-and-all-in-ones/ideacentre-a-series-all-in-o...

 

Lenovo's OSD controls the setting, and that's why the charm bar setting, does not work.

 

Cheers

 

DragonRider

_________________________________________________________________________

I'm DO'ing IT

Yoga 900 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz (Skylake-Y)

X1 Carbon 2nd Gen (20A8) ThinkPad/YOGA Tablet 2 Pro-1380F/IdeaCentre A520 All-In-One i5-3230M/Lenovo Y470 i7-2630QM/T420

semicon24
Punch Card
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-26-2014
Location: DE
Views: 1,922
Message 7 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

Hi Jin Li,

I have a similar problem. Monitor On/Off, PC mode/HDMI-in and Novo Vision buttons work but brightness buttons don't. The problem even exists while in Bios settings mode (F1 key) so I can rule out OS and drivers. Any ideas?

Regards,
Andreas
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Location: US
Views: 1,915
Message 8 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

Hi semicon24,

 

     I don't want to step on Jin Li's toes, but can I ask you a few questions? 

 

1. What OS are you using, Win 7/8/8.1?

2. Does the OSD Volume control work?

3. What Intel HD Graphics 4000 driver are you using? (Most recent is 10.18.10.3621 for Win 8.1)

4. Do you have any yellow (!) exclamation marks in your device manager? (make sure the view of the Device Manager is set to "Show Hidden Devices")

5. Are the lights for the OSD -/+ brightness display "lit", even if they don't work?

 

Please let us know.

 

Cheers

 

DragonRider

_________________________________________________________________________

I'm DO'ing IT

Yoga 900 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz (Skylake-Y)

X1 Carbon 2nd Gen (20A8) ThinkPad/YOGA Tablet 2 Pro-1380F/IdeaCentre A520 All-In-One i5-3230M/Lenovo Y470 i7-2630QM/T420

semicon24
Punch Card
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-26-2014
Location: DE
Views: 1,893
Message 9 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

Hi dragnoak

 

....but can I ask you a few questions? 

Yes, sure, I appreciate any advice

 

1. What OS are you using, Win 7/8/8.1?

Win7 but the problem already exists when in Bios setup without any OS loaded

 

2. Does the OSD Volume control work?

Yes, once Win7 is loaded

 

3. What Intel HD Graphics 4000 driver are you using? (Most recent is 10.18.10.3621 for Win 8.1)

Latest HD3000 driver (5.28.22.64.3517) from the intel website ( My A520 has an i3-2328 sandy bridge processor)

 

4. Do you have any yellow (!) exclamation marks in your device manager? (make sure the view of the Device Manager is set to "Show Hidden Devices")

No, but the brightness control should work without OS loaded. I have access to a lenovo A720 where the brightness control works without OS loaded, eg.g while in Bios setup.

 

5. Are the lights for the OSD -/+ brightness display "lit", even if they don't work?

Yes, the Monitor on/off button [ / ] is always lit and the others turn on when touching the Monitor on/off button.

 

If you have an A520 can you please check if brightness control touch buttons work without OS loaded (e.g. in Bios setup when pressing F1 during boot)?

 

Best Regards,

Andreas

 

 

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Location: US
Views: 1,874
Message 10 of 18

Re: A520 cant adjust volume/brightness on touch screen monitor

Hi,

     In my A520 using Win 8.1, the OSD buttons do work in the BIOS setup utility.

 

     Have you attempted to "repair" the BrgVolOSD program? Under the Programs and Features, click on the program, then click Repair. If that doesn't work, you can always delete the program, and re-install it by using Win 7 link I provided above. I don't know if that will fix your problem, but it's worth a try.

 

     You could also try rolling back your Intel Graphics driver, to the Lenovo released version. In my Y470 under Win 7, I lost the OSD Brightness ability, when I upgraded to any other Intel Graphics driver. What I mean is that using the FN up/down arrow keys to adjust the brightness, the screen will go lighter/darker, but the yellow OSD marker will not move. I can still adjust the brightness, however the yellow bars always stay in the "max" position.

 

     Other than those fixes, I haven't a clue. Maybe it's truly a hardware issue.

 

Cheers

 

DragonRider 

_________________________________________________________________________

I'm DO'ing IT

Yoga 900 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz (Skylake-Y)

X1 Carbon 2nd Gen (20A8) ThinkPad/YOGA Tablet 2 Pro-1380F/IdeaCentre A520 All-In-One i5-3230M/Lenovo Y470 i7-2630QM/T420

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals