Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo All In One (AIO) Desktops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

11-23-2020

Canada

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-23-2020
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 10
  • Message 1 of 3

Questions about upgrading Ideacentre 510A-15ARR RAM

2020-11-23, 15:00 PM

Hi, never gotten into the guts of a computer before and so I'm a bit anxious about upgrading my RAM and I have a couple questions I would like answered. 

First off, I'm looking at Crucial RAM 8GB CT8G4DFRA266 for the upgrade and so far as I can tell that should be compatible, but I would love if someone could confirm that. 

Second, the Crucial system scan tells me that I already have both memory slots filled with 2 4GB cards, would the upgrade I'm looking at work if I only replaced one of the two cards already installed? 

Third, I read somewhere that the pre-installed cards are soldered in and might be difficult to replace, is this true? Or are there any difficulty's with installation that would cause a layman problems? 

Basically I want to know if, with minimal tools, I can order the upgrade and install it/them the same day the delivery arrives. 

Grateful for any help y'all can give!

 

Reply
Answer
Options

3903 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12631 Signins

182891 Page Views

  • Posts: 3903
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 182891

Re:Questions about upgrading Ideacentre 510A-15ARR RAM

2020-11-23, 15:15 PM

Welcome to the forum.

 

  1. According to IdeaCentre 510A-15ARR you can indeed install CT8G4DFRA266, either one or two modules.
  2. According to ideacentre_510A_15ARR_Spec.PDF your system can support up to 32GB RAM as 2x 16GB modules. (Crucial says 16GB for some reason.) 
  3. There are two sockets so you can replace one or both of the RAM modules you have now. (Some systems have RAM soldered to the motherboard. This RAM can't be upgraded. However that's not the situation with your system.)

 

The procedure for replacing RAM is quite simple. See the TDT 510A-15ARR User Guide.

Reply

Replies(2)
Answer
Options

3903 Posts

12-22-2008

Canada

12631 Signins

182891 Page Views

  • Posts: 3903
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 182891
  • Message 2 of 3

Re:Questions about upgrading Ideacentre 510A-15ARR RAM

2020-11-23, 15:15 PM

Welcome to the forum.

 

  1. According to IdeaCentre 510A-15ARR you can indeed install CT8G4DFRA266, either one or two modules.
  2. According to ideacentre_510A_15ARR_Spec.PDF your system can support up to 32GB RAM as 2x 16GB modules. (Crucial says 16GB for some reason.) 
  3. There are two sockets so you can replace one or both of the RAM modules you have now. (Some systems have RAM soldered to the motherboard. This RAM can't be upgraded. However that's not the situation with your system.)

 

The procedure for replacing RAM is quite simple. See the TDT 510A-15ARR User Guide.


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2 Posts

11-23-2020

Canada

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-23-2020
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 10
  • Message 3 of 3

Re:Questions about upgrading Ideacentre 510A-15ARR RAM

2020-11-23, 17:19 PM
Thanks for the speedy reply, appreciate it!
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms