Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo TabletsLenovo Android based Tablets and Phablets
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

12-21-2011

Jax Fl

4 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2011
  • Location: Jax Fl
  • Views: 26
  • Message 1 of 6

New K1 owner with move app's to SD issue

2011-12-21, 12:31 PM

Good morning all,

 

Very experienced PC systems builder here (since 1985) and there are very little, if any, tech issues come up that stop me dead in my tracks. Until yesterday. I own Android smartphones and move apps to SD cards on a regular basis but for some reason my new (OTA updated) K1 will not allow me to do it. I've also searched the forum but can't seem to find a clear cut answer on what others are doing to solve.

 

I bought a new PNY 16GB Class 10 Micro SDHC card, inserted it and ensured it was (gently) fully seated by using a "helper tool", turned it on and the unit recognized it. I see 14.91GB under total space and available but there is where it all stops. I've downloaded multiple apps of varying styles to experiment and even some of the "move to SD" apps but nowhere am I seeing the option to move ANY of them to SD. The default Manage Applications option shows that all apps are stored on the unit itself and nowhere allows the option to move.

 

What am I missing here?

Reply
Options

35 Posts

12-01-2011

United States

88 Signins

616 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎12-01-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 616
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: New K1 owner with move app's to SD issue

2011-12-21, 19:12 PM

I believe the move to SD feature is available for 2.2, not for 3.x version. Version 2.x is intended for cell phones, while 3.x is for tablets.

In 4.x, the two versions will merge. Hopefully the feature will be there.

Reply
Options

55 Posts

12-18-2011

USA

90 Signins

765 Page Views

  • Posts: 55
  • Registered: ‎12-18-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 765
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: New K1 owner with move app's to SD issue

2011-12-21, 23:04 PM

Engine,

Am I understanding this right?  We can't download an app from the market and then move it to the SD card?  Is the SD card only for files we put there using a file manager or win explorer using the host cable?  I haven't tried moving a whole app yet but I have moved some files to the card

By a route obscure and lonely
haunted by ill angels only.
Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: New K1 owner with move app's to SD issue

2011-12-22, 7:18 AM
After doing several search on google and reading couple of forums I found this.

http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/acer-iconia-tab-a500-forum/23920-3-2-app-sd.html

---
Google might have disabled this on Honeycomb and above. The reason provided by the forumer seem possible.

//JameZ
Reply
Options

3 Posts

12-21-2011

Jax Fl

4 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2011
  • Location: Jax Fl
  • Views: 26
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: New K1 owner with move app's to SD issue

2011-12-22, 12:54 PM

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I should have looked at the version as the culprit instead of assuming it was the K1 or owner/operator problem. Though not a major issue, it would be nice to move some of the lesser used larger apps to the card and off of the tablet itself. Hopefully this will change with an update from Android.

 

Happy Holidays all!

Reply
Options

35 Posts

12-01-2011

United States

88 Signins

616 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎12-01-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 616
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: New K1 owner with move app's to SD issue

2011-12-22, 14:34 PM

Graydog,

 

You are right. You can move music, document, videos, etc to external SD card, and play/open from there. 

But in Android 3.x, you can not install or move an application to external SD card to save space for your internal drive.

The internal drive is labeled 'SDcard' in K1, kind misleading. Your external SD card is labeled as 'SDcard2'

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms