Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo TabletsLenovo Android based Tablets and Phablets
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

06-18-2012

Indianapolis, IN

380 Signins

886 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎06-18-2012
  • Location: Indianapolis, IN
  • Views: 886
  • Message 531 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-12, 22:48 PM

wrote:

wrote:

wrote:

Well that was easy! I downloaded a terminal program and the K1_ICS_AOSP_Rooted_R2.zip. Booted into recovery mode and found the zip file and Zip,Bam,Boom! Installed with no problem. Rebooted and now I have a ZOOM Instead of a K1. Haven't had a chance to see what else has changed.Thanks again khanning!

Looking at the thread for CM9 it looks like you do a factory reset during the install. Is this going to wipe my system? I am not sure if I want it then.


Same think for me. GREAT GREAT work Khanning!!!!

Thank you very much!!!

 


   No luck here.  I downloaded the zip file and moved it to my SD card and rebooted in recovery mode.  The installation starts and says it's installing, and about ten seconds later is says installation aborted.  I am going to re-download the file just to see if it got corrupted.

 

-Chris


   Downloading it again fixed the issue!

 

-Chris

Reply
Options

4 Posts

07-31-2012

Chile

34 Signins

211 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2012
  • Location: Chile
  • Views: 211
  • Message 532 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 0:47 AM

Suddenly my K1 started to froze ramdomly D; anyone else?

Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-18-2011

Malaysia

88 Signins

1627 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2011
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 1627
  • Message 533 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 1:47 AM

OK. Reporting back with the result. Khanning's rooted version works fine. No more not turning on nor battery problem, though the battery temperature spite from time to time.

 

Will test further with apps installed.

Reply
Options

95 Posts

04-13-2012

USA

390 Signins

2291 Page Views

  • Posts: 95
  • Registered: ‎04-13-2012
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 2291
  • Message 534 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 2:21 AM

wrote:

Suddenly my K1 started to froze ramdomly D; anyone else?


There is a known issue with the K1 not waking from sleep if wifi turns off.  You have to set "keep wifi on during sleep" to "always".

Reply
Options

38 Posts

08-06-2012

Boise, Id

414 Signins

1699 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2012
  • Location: Boise, Id
  • Views: 1699
  • Message 535 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 2:44 AM
I have the AOSP rooted R2 installed. If I install CM9 is it going to wipe everything that I installed after installing ICS?
Reply
Options

266 Posts

08-27-2009

Virginia, USA

804 Signins

3933 Page Views

  • Posts: 266
  • Registered: ‎08-27-2009
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • Views: 3933
  • Message 536 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 3:45 AM

I haven't taken the plunge yet, because I'd like to make sure the GPS is working before I do, seeing as I use GPS-related functions a lot.  Can anyone confirm how well it's working on the ICS release (or not)?

Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-18-2011

Malaysia

88 Signins

1627 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2011
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 1627
  • Message 537 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 7:46 AM

wrote:

wrote:

Suddenly my K1 started to froze ramdomly D; anyone else?


There is a known issue with the K1 not waking from sleep if wifi turns off.  You have to set "keep wifi on during sleep" to "always".


Not true. Before I re-flash mine to rooted version, if I keep the wifi on, my unit can't wake up from sleep. Now, with the rooted version, I can keep my unit either turn off during sleep or keep it on. So, it seems that it depends on the unit, ie. different country has different version. So, it may happen to me this way, but to you, it the other way around.

 

So, play with different versions of the rom. You may be surprised with the result. Overall, vanilla ICS is much more responsive without the bloatware.

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-13-2012

Germany

16 Signins

114 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-13-2012
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 114
  • Message 538 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 9:20 AM

I'am not allowed to write in the Thread in xda forums, so i ask my question here:

 

I have installed the rooted AOSP R1 Rom on my K1. I want to install the updatetd Version R2. Is it possible to install it without loosing all apps, settings and data? With CWM?

 

Thank you so much, khanning and all the other great people working on the roms and answering questions.

 

 

Reply
Options

255 Posts

12-27-2011

United States

236 Signins

1864 Page Views

  • Posts: 255
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 1864
  • Message 539 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 14:54 PM

Yes. That was the point of including CWM to begin with.

Allow me to quote the second post in the thread.

 

"So from now on we will be able to flash future updates through recovery without wiping everything?"

 

Khanning answers:

 

"Exactly, future updates will be CWM flashable .zip's".

 

 

-------------

In anticipation of your next question:

Down the CWM package, put it in your external SD, reboot to recovery, install zip from SD, choose it, select Install, done.

Reply
Options

154 Posts

11-18-2011

Malaysia

88 Signins

1627 Page Views

  • Posts: 154
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2011
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 1627
  • Message 540 of 714

Re: [ROM][ICS]Ideapad K1 Official Release

2012-08-13, 14:55 PM

wrote:

I haven't taken the plunge yet, because I'd like to make sure the GPS is working before I do, seeing as I use GPS-related functions a lot.  Can anyone confirm how well it's working on the ICS release (or not)?


Confirm that GPS is not working on the ICS non AOSP built. Can anyone report on the AOSP version?

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms