English Community

Lenovo TabletsLenovo Android based Tablets and Phablets
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

10-13-2011

USA

14 Signins

188 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎10-13-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 188
  • Message 11 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-17, 23:18 PM

looks like it will not lock in google maps. if i allow the tablet to sit outside for 10+ minutes with GPS test running it will show up tp 5 satellites in view however none ever are listed as in use.

Reply
Options

60 Posts

10-11-2011

Buffalo, NY

162 Signins

560 Page Views

  • Posts: 60
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2011
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • Views: 560
  • Message 12 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-18, 1:07 AM
I was having the same problem as I discussed earlier in the thread somehow it seems to be fixed now. GPS just not finding satalites. What I was doing at the time was trying to download other gps navigational items from android store, to see if one of those would work. I then went to google maps in uninstalled of the updates via the store and reinstall a few times and then suddenly was working again. Even now gps test shows all sorts of satalites up just fine. I'm guessing maybe 1 of those fixed the glitch somehow. I do not know which may of fixed it but I will list the ones I dowloaded. I did also open each. Anyhow here is they are, all free or trial versions. Gps essentials, sygic, best route free,smarttrip gps. Good luck and I hope that somehow magically fixes itself for you too.
Reply
Options

60 Posts

10-11-2011

Buffalo, NY

162 Signins

560 Page Views

  • Posts: 60
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2011
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • Views: 560
  • Message 13 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-18, 1:24 AM
Sadly once I turned the GPS off and then on again it was back to not working. I am trying to see what made it work.
Reply
Options

60 Posts

10-11-2011

Buffalo, NY

162 Signins

560 Page Views

  • Posts: 60
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2011
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • Views: 560
  • Message 14 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-18, 1:34 AM
It seems if a program manages to connect it will remember even for google maps at least till you turn the gps or reboot. I was able to get it to work once with gps status and test app.
Reply
Options

60 Posts

10-11-2011

Buffalo, NY

162 Signins

560 Page Views

  • Posts: 60
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2011
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • Views: 560
  • Message 15 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-18, 1:55 AM
With a reboot now gps test was able to find satalites right off the bat, at least for me.
Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 16 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-18, 2:54 AM
@All,

I was testing 2 K1s yesterday side by side with a HTC Incredible S and S2...

1 thing I notice in order to get a proper lock on the GPS in Google maps.

Do ensure that the K1 is not facing "down" ... means don't put the K1 on a flat surface, I was letting it lean on the window instead, then the settings for K1, do enable the 3 of the following.

- Use Wireless networks (Ensure you have Wifi or tethering with a phone)
- Use GPS satellites
- Use location for Google Search

My Google maps was able to lock with approx 20 meter on the K1, 30 meter on the HTC Incredible S and 20 meter on the S2

If you have any case on the K1, do remove them and test again.

//JameZ
Reply
Options

1573 Posts

04-20-2010

United States of America

4826 Signins

33391 Page Views

  • Posts: 1573
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 33391
  • Message 17 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-18, 3:01 AM

@JameZ

I don't think the GPS working with the K1 connected to the internet is the solution, as you don't need to have GPS on for the location to show on the maps app.

Maps shows you where your at by internet easy. It even knows which way your pointing. GPS doesn't need to be on for that.

Internet location is not an option out in the field really.

IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, IdeaPad U410 Touch, and Yoga 3 Pro

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 18 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-18, 3:48 AM
@MrPeter1985,

In order for Google Maps to work, you would need to internet unless you have it pre-cached? Engineering have tested the per-cached maps in Google Maps (Labs) and it does work as well.

//JameZ
Reply
Options

1573 Posts

04-20-2010

United States of America

4826 Signins

33391 Page Views

  • Posts: 1573
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 33391
  • Message 19 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-18, 12:28 PM

I'm sorry JameZ my last post came out all wrong, I must have been tired.

What I'm trying to say is that the GPS doesn't need to on for the internet location to show where your at, so that doesn't prove the GPS is working.

If you go outside and have the GPS off and your connected to the internet, Google maps will show you were your at by Internet Location.

If you turn off Internet Location and turn on GPS it doesn't work. (at least for me)

IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, IdeaPad U410 Touch, and Yoga 3 Pro

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
Reply
Options

21 Posts

10-15-2011

colorado

45 Signins

236 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎10-15-2011
  • Location: colorado
  • Views: 236
  • Message 20 of 123

Re: New K1 owner unhappy with GPS

2011-10-19, 2:16 AM
II just got my K1 Friday and running 801, i downloaded GPS Test and got 5 satellites in about 4 minutes and could use Google Navigation...so I guess I lucked out :-)
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms