Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
mrbi11
Blue Screen Again
Views: 367
Message 1 of 4

New tab 4 plus cant detect SD card

I'm new to android tablets, so dont assume I know what Im doing.

Very experienced pc user.

Have 64gb micro sd formatted as PC does when plugging the SD into a USB via adapter. I assume that is fat 32, but its the same as ane USB drive I think.

Puzzled out the plastic sd/sim card holder and pretty sure I have it plugged in the only way it fits.

Settings storage does not see any extra storage. It sees the internal 64gb only.

Same for factory file manager and several generic file manager apps.

I read some stuff about formatting, which I have not done.

Its unclear how I could format a device the system doesnt recognze is there.

Ideally I would use the same format as the USB drives, as that way I can plug it to my PC USB ports.

However if that just doesnt work I would like to know what does?

Help is much appreciated.

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Views: 261
Message 2 of 4

Re: New tab 4 plus cant detect SD card

Hi mrbi11! Welcome to our forums community. It's not necessarily that the format is FAT 32, it depends on the drop down. Usually it is NTFS or exFAT format. You can refer to the photo below. When you format an external storage to your tablet, you have an option to format as an extension of the internal storage or just a regular external storage. Please refer to the link below.

https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/tablets/a-series/tab3-7/solutions/ht500296

Regards

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

I2k4
802.11n
Views: 254
Message 3 of 4