Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Posts: 1,513
Topics: 38
Kudos: 118
Solutions: 50
Registered: ‎04-20-2010
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
0 Kudos

Re: K1 can't connect to my wireless network

I believe I have the same router. Belkin N300, I'll check when I get home. II did have tons of issues at first, but now since all these updates it's working a lot better. I have mine set on WPA2. Give it a try and let us know. Also what build do you have loaded?
IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, IdeaPad U410, and Yoga 3 Pro Touch

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
Location: Santeee, California
0 Kudos

Re: K1 can't connect to my wireless network

gdeight, thank you for your comment. Will try your suggestion as soon as I have a chance.
But then, why did it work before, am I right to assume that the incompatibility is related to the new build?
Or is it possible that there is hardware failure?

SCSI Port
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-01-2011
Location: California, U.S.
0 Kudos

Re: K1 can't connect to my wireless network

Hi Wijono, I suspect this is more of a software or configuration issue than hardware especially if it worked fine before the firmware update.

 

If you're stuck at obtaining the IP Address, it's likely that the router DHCP server isn't willing to give your K1 an address for whatever reason (credentials, out of IP addresses, etc). The other day, I had the exact same problem but with my laptop (when battery ran out) . My other devices, the K1 and netbook, connected fine but my laptop would not. After rebooting the router, everything was back to normal.

 

BTW, my K1 is working with WPA2-AES and a 2Wire branded dsl modem/AP router combo.

 

 

 

 

Builds:
01/18/2012 - K1_A301_14_14_120109_US
01//2012 - K1_A301_13_13_111209_US
12/2011 - K1_A301_12_12_111109_US
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-13-2012
Location: Tulsa, Ok
0 Kudos

Re: K1 can't connect to my wireless network

I have a netgear router and repeater.  I have had several issues with not being able to connect to either.  I have tried to 'forget' the connection and reconnect, but that hasn't solved the problem.  I can connect easily to hotspots but not my router at home.

Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-13-2012
Location: Tulsa, Ok
0 Kudos

Re: K1 can't connect to my wireless network

 
Highlighted
WWAN
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎08-26-2009
Location: Virginia, USA
0 Kudos

Re: K1 can't connect to my wireless network

I didn't see it mentioned anywhere in this thread, but just in case you weren't aware, did you know that you MUST either use no encryption or WPA2-AES encryption to get Wifi-N speeds from your N device and router? If you only use WPA encryption, it will force the router to connect using G protocol, because WPA is not a supported encryption method in Wifi-N. Assuming that your router is set to support mixed B/G/N protocols, using WPA should not affect your ability to connect, but it could limit your speed. With my K1 and a Linksys E3000, using WPA2-AES encryption, I get 56-72Mbps pretty much anywhere in my house.
Punch Card
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
Location: NH
0 Kudos

Re: K1 can't connect to my wireless network

Most routers default to auto channel selection.  Depending on what kind of wireless equipment you have around the house (phones, alarms, etc), you may be experiencing some kind fo interference on the channel the router is selecting.

 

Try manually setting the channel on the router, and try different channels.  I was having problems with a netbook that has poor wifi reception, and was able to clear the problem up by manually selecting a different channel.  Believe it or not, it was being caused by signal radiation from my plasma tv (found that by moving the router further from the tv, the problem also cured (yes, moving it closer recreated the problem), but just left it on the manual set channel anyway).