Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-23-2012
Location: india
Message 1 of 5 (934 Views)

4GB RAM not visible to OS

Dear All,

 

I purchased a Lenovo G570 (Model Name: 20079).

It has Core i3 2350M and 4GB RAM.

 

I installed windows xp(32-bit).

When I checked the task manager/properties of my computer; it shows only 3GB of RAM.

Also I installed puppy linux(32-bit), and checked top; it shows 3GB of total memory.

 

What shall I do, so that 4GB will be visible to OS?

 

Sincerely,

Srinivas Nayak

Highlighted
Community Moderator
Posts: 13,484
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Česká Republika
Message 2 of 5 (932 Views)

Re: 4GB RAM not visible to OS

hi snayak

i'm not sure about linux but windows xp doesn't support 4 gb ram at maximum. you can install it but the system will only use 3 gb of. you will need to install at least 64 bit operation system.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/hardware/gg487508

hope this helps.


Retired Guru
Posts: 2,090
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
Message 3 of 5 (930 Views)

Re: 4GB RAM not visible to OS

Same in Linux.
32 bit = 3GB
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
Location: assam
Message 4 of 5 (721 Views)

Re: 4GB RAM not visible to OS windows 7 32bit

i hav lenovo g570 20079 having i3 2330m n 4gb ram....bt it is using only 3bg ram....1gb ram of ati radeon graphics card is not in use...plzz hlpp how to use all 4gb ram

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Location: Egypt
Message 5 of 5 (713 Views)

Re: 4GB RAM not visible to OS

Use Operating system with 64Bit not 32Bit .

Top Kudoed Authors