Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo B and G Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

09-26-2014

United States

2 Signins

10 Page Views

• Views: 10
  • Message 1 of 2

B570 odd restarts/possible BIOS issue

2014-09-26, 22:58 PM

So I have searched online and on this forum extensively and I am not finding another case similiar to what I have going on here.  A couple of days ago my computer, which I have owned for a bit over a year now (bought used) started crapping out in the middle of POSTing.  So, I disassembled it (no worries, I work in IT professionally and I have worked as a service tech for numerous manufacturers in my career) and checked everything out...made sure the CPU was seated right, reapplied thermal paste, checked for swollen or burnt caps, nothing....so after futzing with it (checking to make sure the RAM wasn't hosed, either stick, either slot...checking HDD...etc) I ended up just grabbing a replacement MOBO.  Couple days later, MOBO arrives, I swap everything over...things work great, okay awesome.  I figure the BIOS is out of date, so I grab update 43 for my specific machine off of the Lenovo site and flash...it goes through the process and then hangs on restart, I leave it be and it eventually powers off, but will not restart.  I unplug it, plug it back in and it fires automagically but craps out on POST again.  I pull the battery, clear the caps, plug it back in and it fires up....can't see if the BIOS update actually took because of course this new board has an undocumented BIOS password, but it boots into 7.  I work with it a bit, then accidentally hit the CAPS LOCK key and it shuts down.  **bleep**?  So, I go through the whole clear the caps again and test it...sure enough, it boots but CAPS LOCK shuts it down, very weird.  So, I start researching on how to roll the BIOS back and I am not finding anything.  I saw something on P