newtonmusiclaw
Blue Screen Again
Views: 249
Message 1 of 7

FIREWIRE POSSIBLE WITH G780?

Hello -

First post...

I have a G780 which I am happy with.

I am a musician (Jazz saxophonist and pianist).

I have a device made by Presonus called a "Firepod."  It is an audio interface, and it uses a Firewire 1394 connection.  It allows my laptop to become a recording studio with software called a digital audio workstation ("DAW").

Previously, the Pirepod connected to a Firewire port on my defunct HP laptop.  Since I brought the Lenovo, I've been using a smaller audio interface, a Presonus "Audiobox USB" which, as the name implies, has a USB connection.

But the Audiobox USB (which is small and good for travel) doesn't have enough inputs for my current needs, which involve two digital pianos, saxophone and vocal mics.  The Firepod has 8 inputs.

Research unveils that a thing called a PCMCIA card will do the trick, but I don't see any such card slot on the G780, either.

So...

Since there is neither a Firewire port nor a PCMIA card slot on the G780, am I out of luck?

Thanks!

- Jeff

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Views: 226
Message 2 of 7

Re: FIREWIRE POSSIBLE WITH G780?

Welcome to the Lenovo Community !

PCMCIA slots are kind of dated now a days. Everything is USB.  Have you looked into a USB to Firewire adapter?  I've never use one so I can't verify it will meet your needs, but customer reviews on the various models should give you an idea.  The link below is a Google search on that hardware.  Check out some of the on-line sellers' websites and review the product as well as what the buyers had to say.

https://www.google.com/search?q=usb+firewire+adapter&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8

please mark it as an "Accept As Solution"
♦ I'm not a Lenovo employee, just a volunteer geek who likes to help folks.
Sorry, I don't read unsolicited Private Messages. If you have an issue, posting in     the appropriate forum is the best way to get assistance.