cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
westie13
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-08-2017
Location: AU
Views: 833
Message 1 of 6

G50-45 - Factory Reset OKR loads windows

Hello 

I need to do a factory reset on my brothers laptop as he has passed away and his daughter wants to use it but i don't have a recovery disc and the OKR doesnt work.

 

when i press the OKR button, the screen comes up where i can select recovery but it just loads into windows normally. 

 

please help 

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,089
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 805
Message 2 of 6

Re: G50-45 - Factory Reset OKR loads windows

Hi westie13 , 

 

Welcome to the Community Forums.

 

Did the machine came with Win 7 /Windows 8 / Win 8.1 / Win10 originally?

You may check on the Windows sticker also.

 

You can attempt to do the OKR again by first turning off the system and remove the battery.

Press down the power button for 12 seconds twice to ensure the power is drained.

Press the novo button (item 9 page 69) to turn on and novo menu should offer system recovery.

One Key Recovery from initial back up would allow you to proceed.

 

Usually recovery disc are orderable from technical support if the OKR image is bad.

Alternatively a Windows installer image can be freely downloadable for windows 8.1 and Windows 10 for you to simply clean install the operating system and download and install the drivers from the support website.

 

Update us how it goes for you.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

westie13
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-08-2017
Location: AU
Views: 798
Message 3 of 6

Re: G50-45 - Factory Reset OKR loads windows

thanks for your reply spidey101.
it has windows 7 home premium installed ( i assume this is what came with the laptop originally )

i will try the power down and retry the OKR tonight
i will let you how i go.
I cant find the windows sticker but i used a program to get my COA number.
when i tried downloading the windows image using that code it stated i couldnt download it as the licence is for a factory pre install machine and to use a recovery disc
westie13
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-08-2017
Location: AU
Views: 760
Message 4 of 6

Re: G50-45 - Factory Reset OKR loads windows

i tried this but didn't work
any other suggestions
Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,089
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 756
Message 5 of 6

Re: G50-45 - Factory Reset OKR loads windows

Hi westie13 , 

 

Greetings. 

 

How far would it go when it proceeds on booting ?

You can try to shut down first within windows and then proceed with again removing the battery and power draining it with the power button , then try the novo button again. 

 

Assuming that the OKR image is still viable you can try this steps on this video as alternate. 

 

 

If however the image is no longer there , clean installation with an OEM recovery media is the next move to keep same OEM license key .

 

Recovery CD are orderable from the manufacturer since the free ISO image for Win 7 Home premium is no longer available for download unlike Win 8 and Win 10 from the Microsoft Media creation site. 

 

You may privately message me with the serial number (must be kept confidential) if we still need to verify the original OS from the time it was ordered.

 

Update us how things go. 

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

BinoMac88
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-17-2017
Location: US
Views: 692
Message 6 of 6

Re: G50-45 - Factory Reset OKR loads windows

Hello,

 

I pressed the OKR and I get this message " An operating system wasn't found. Try disconnecting any drives that don't contain an operating system.

 

Press Ctrl-Alt-Del to restart

 

any suggestions or advice will be helpful.

 

Thanks

BinoMac

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors