Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo B and G Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

01-06-2017

Serbia

6 Signins

66 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-06-2017
  • Location: Serbia
  • Views: 66
  • Message 1 of 5

G50-45 dual channel ram

2017-05-13, 13:38 PM

I have Lenovo G50-45 laptop with LENOVO Lancer 5B2 (Socket FT3b) motherboard, AMD A8 6410 cpu with integrated graphics and 4gb ram(one stick). I want to add two sticks of ram(2x4gb) and my question is will they work in dual channel, and will it give me a performance gain? Thanks i advance

Reply
Options

2954 Posts

02-22-2017

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

1083 Signins

26243 Page Views

  • Posts: 2954
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2017
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 26243
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: G50-45 dual channel ram

2017-05-16, 8:33 AM

Hello Jankoo97

Thanks for using the Lenovo forums.


Have a read of the following post, it gives you a pretty good and thorough description of single VS dual channel RAM, along with test with games.

 

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/does-dual-channel-memory-make-difference-in-gaming-performance/

 

But, as the article itself concludes, to quote "theoretically, the dual-channel mode doubles the bandwidth between the CPU and the memory, it does not mandatorily result in a perceptible impact on the performance of a specific program. In most of the games we tested, there was not significant performance gain when we enabled the dual-channel mode."

 

Hope this helps, let us know how you get on.


==================================================================================
Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

 

This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.



Pesszimistának lenni a legjobb, vagy igazad van, vagy kellemesen meglepődsz...
Reply
Options

8 Posts

01-06-2017

Serbia

6 Signins

66 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-06-2017
  • Location: Serbia
  • Views: 66
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: G50-45 dual channel ram

2017-09-26, 8:11 AM

So i upgraded RAM, i bought 2x4GB kit(HyperX Impact @1866Mhz) but in cpu-z it stands that the ram is working in single channel mode. What may cause this problem, or is there an option for enabling dual channel

 

Mod's Comment: Please do not start multiple posts on same issue as this only splinters the discussion. Instead, keep your current discussion updated with any additional information. Your duplicate has been removed. Thanks !

 

Reply
Options

10 Posts

05-26-2018

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

5 Signins

124 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2018
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 124
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: G50-45 dual channel ram

2020-01-28, 16:01 PM

Even though this is over 2yrs old, for the sake of anyone else who owns and still uses this hardware, this answer should prove conclusive:

 

In the G50-45 with A8-6410,

..  there IS NO DUAL CHANNEL RAM mode.

 

It will ONLY run in Single Channel mode, unfortunately.

 

MAX TOTAL RAM is confirmed 16GB.

I installed 2x 8Gb Hyper-X 1866 DDR3-L (low power, specifically!) and the laptop worked fine.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-13-2020

United States of America

2 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 15
  • Message 5 of 5

Re:G50-45 dual channel ram

2020-06-13, 21:46 PM

I have AMD A6-6310 LENOVO Lancer 5B2 (Socket FT3b). Will it be much difference to yours A8...?

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms