cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
DownTownBrowne
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: CHI
Views: 3,980
Message 11 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

If its HM70 cs your answer is a NO, if its a HM76 your answer is a yes. 

 

The G500 comes in many flavors. I just looked at   "CB23310653" G500 on lenovo.com it has an i3 in it and is only

320$US you should have spent the extra 30/50$ for an i series processor if your were/are planning to upgrade.

 

You said you just bought it, send it back.

Sgoaty
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
Location: Scotland
Views: 3,968
Message 12 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

I did see the bit about the chipset but is there no way to know what the chipset is by the model number?
I'm in the UK and to get this laptop with an i3 costs about 50% more. The 2020m is probably more than adequate for my needs as i only really want it for browsing the internet and playing HD movies (I'm aware that they will need to be scaled down to fit the screen) if it cant be upgraded its not the end of the world.
DownTownBrowne
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: CHI
Views: 3,961
Message 13 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

Yea it dont work that way, each digit stands for a differant thing. Like digits 1-2-3 stand for base type-color, Digits 4-5-6 stand for cpu-memory-screen type, digits 7-8-9 stand for software-wifi type-hard drive. Not exactly like that but you get how it works. Maybee a call to tech support and they could tell ya.

 

G500-i5 on ebayUK was was 232+ ship (from US) at lenovo G500-2020m at lenovo 309. All UK prices

 

Best idea  i have is shop eBay(US) for MFG-REFURB or NEW unit that ships to UK. I just looked at Lenovo UK outlet

and regular lenovo sight. It would be cheaper to buy on ebay and have it shippped.. OR option 2 witch is what i tell my ebay customers.  Get a shipping adress & service in the US, like mail boxes etc or myus.com so you can shop US websites. They will give you a US addy. OR buy the 510 or 510s, they are 70 more lenovo.com /UK

 

NOw if your going to use ebay- make sure you buy from a seller who ships himself and does NOT use ebay global shipping program. Ask if you need to, ebay global shipping will cost you 200$. The seller ships it himself will cost 50ish. They will use DHL-FEDEX-USPS or of the likes

Sgoaty
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
Location: Scotland
Views: 3,952
Message 14 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

Thanks for taking the time to reply and I dont mean to shoot down all your suggestions if it seems that way Smiley Happy 

Id rather buy from the UK as if I buy from outside the EU i will have import tax to pay also global warranty might be an issue.

Also i bought my laptop from amazon UK for £269.99 so it would be £110 more to go with the i3 with an extra 2GB of RAM over the 2020m which doesnt seem like great value.

I guess ill just take my chances and see what i get chipset wise.

Thanks

Scott

Highlighted
Sgoaty
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
Location: Scotland
Views: 3,931
Message 15 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

I work offshore so just got home today. The laptop was sitting at home waiting for me and it seems very nice for the price. Its an HM76 so it looks like im good to go Smiley Happy

 

Can I put in any of the cpus listed or am i limited to a max of 35w?

 

Also are these things fussy with the RAM?

Thanks

Scott

DownTownBrowne
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: CHI
Views: 3,925
Message 16 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

To be on the safe side, use something someone has already tested or something off the HMM. OR just find another unit with the CPU you plan on useing in it.  The HMM route is preferable. You can go with a QM but stay in 35w land(3612QM). To change the cpu is a task on older 500's, you can use a dremel to cut out the plastic around the heatsink..Only 3 & 1 screws after that. You'll see what i mean when you get it open- looks like they put that plastic there on purpose.

 

Memory, not picky, it will use good memory to its potential if you buy good stuff. Specs probably say 8gb max, thats a lie. But you might run into issues with 2x8 chips. May need to be a certain speed or no go. I did 510 yestrday was a nightmare, only took 10600 chips and had to be high density samsung/elpida some off brand..

 

As a rule of thumb- burn recovery media NOW.  SSD should be your first/second upgrade realisticaly. NO msata slot but has 120mm, m.2 i think. (long slot on the left)They are kinda cheap now also, if you do a factory install it will use the whole drive as a cache- you dont want that..

 

Some of this i might be wrong about, may apply to 500-S as i have had both.  Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

Sgoaty
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
Location: Scotland
Views: 3,906
Message 17 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

Sorry but whats HMM?

thanks

Scott

DownTownBrowne
Serial Port
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
Location: CHI
Views: 3,903
Message 18 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

Hardware Maintance Manual

http://download.lenovo.com/consumer/mobiles_pub/lenovo_g400g500g405g505g410g510_hmm.pdf

 

and see this also eventually- basic how to page sponsered be lenovo. (if it still there, havent been to it in years)

http://www.lenovoservicetraining.com/

 

and find your laptop- its a video page

Sgoaty
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
Location: Scotland
Views: 3,881
Message 19 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

Thanks for the links!

 

The HMM doesnt seem sto specify compatible cpus from what ive seen.

Do you think i could go up to the 3610 (45w) if i got a bigger power brick?

 

Cheers

Scott

Sgoaty
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
Location: Scotland
Views: 3,864
Message 20 of 27

Re: G500 cpu upgrade-- "Unsupprted CPU for PCH" .

I found it after another look

Intel I7-3632QM 2.2G E1 6M 4cPGA processor

Intel I7-3612QM 2.1G E1 6M 4cPGA processor
Intel I7-3520M 2.9G L1 4M 2cPGA processor
Intel I5-3230M 2.6G 3M 2cPGA processor
Intel I3-3130M 2.6G 3M 2cPGA processor

Intel 2030M 2.5G 2M 2cPGA processor
Intel 2020M 2.4G L1 2M 2cPGA processor 
Intel 1000M 1.8G 2M P0 2cPGA processor
Intel I3-3120M 2.5G L1 3M 2cPGA processor
Intel I3-2348M 2.3G J1 3M 2cPGA processor 
Intel B980 2.4G Q0 2M 2cPGA processor

Intel B960 2.20G 2M 35W SNB PGA processor

 

all 35w models it seems i better keep looking for a compatible cpu at a good price Smiley Happy

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors