cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
richcoat26
What's DOS?
Views: 418
Message 1 of 3

G505s are high apu and gpu temps normal during gaming?

Hi, I'm new to Lenovo laptops and new to Amd processors so need a bit of help/advice regarding my G505s with 2.5ghz A10 Apu and 5750 Gpu.

I have had this laptop about a month now and overall I'm impressed with it including its ability to play a lot of demanding games such as Battlefield 3 and even Dayz! Although the laptop runs these games on decent settings and maintaining good frame rates, it has one down side, it gets hot!

After about 20-25 minutes playing battlefield 3 on high settings the laptop gets to hot and restarts without any notice. If I turn the game settings down to medium then it is possible to play a bit longer before the laptop restarts itself. The only way I've managed to play without the laptop restarting is by going into processor power options and changing it from 100% to 99% maximum processor state. This means the Apu clock speed is reduced and it doesn't go into turbo mode. However by doing this I am losing processing power (max clock speed reduces to around 2100mhz) and the laptop still gets very hot.

Using various temp programmes I am getting Apu temps of around 90-94 degrees Celsius and the 2 gpu's are around 85-90 degrees Celsius. To me the fan doesn't seem powerful at all on my laptop and even when the laptop is really hot you can hardly feel any hot air being blown out of the vent. The keyboard on the left hand side and the case above the vent gets very hot to touch and makes using the laptop uncomfortable.

Basically I just want to know does any one else that owns this laptop experience these high temps during gaming? I also get similar temps when just streaming films over netflix although not quite as high.