Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Token Ring
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: israel
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

G530 fn+f5 not working

[ Edited ]

hi!

the combination fn+f5 does nothing to wireless network Smiley Sad

i've pm driver install +on screen  display install

all other fn functions work fine.

how to solve it?

 

(or fn+f5 works only with thinkpad series? )

_____________________
Lenovo G530 4446-24G
had vista and now win7 32bit
____________________
Posts: 20,898
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,253
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working

what symbol do you have on the F5 key? On thinkpads there is a wireless sign, does your laptop F5 also have it?

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Posts: 2,917
Topics: 106
Kudos: 158
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 123
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
0 Kudos

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working

Wireless is supported only on specific models of G530.Look if there is a slider/latch on the right side of the notebook.

Then use the Fn+F5 to configure your wireless settings 

 





Cheers and regards,
• » νιנαソѕαяα∂нι ѕαмανє∂αм ™ « •
●๋•کáŕádhí'ک díáŕý ツ


I am a volunteer here. I don't work for Lenovo
Token Ring
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: israel
0 Kudos

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working


lead_org wrote:

what symbol do you have on the F5 key? On thinkpads there is a wireless sign, does your laptop F5 also have it?


yes. there is a wireless sign f5.

also in the manual says that  fn+f5= enable/disable wireless.

_____________________
Lenovo G530 4446-24G
had vista and now win7 32bit
____________________
Token Ring
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: israel
0 Kudos

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working

[ Edited ]

vijaysaradhi wrote:

Wireless is supported only on specific models of G530.Look if there is a slider/latch on the right side of the notebook.

Then use the Fn+F5 to configure your wireless settings 

 


my model is 444624g .

my wireless was\is working fine.

the problem is that fn+f5 is doing nothing at all...(not even an error massage)

(i can get the below tab only via "lenovo care" software)

here ie my configuration:

 

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/9985/11019174.jpg

 

 

 

 

Mod edit : Image converted to link 

 

 

 

_____________________
Lenovo G530 4446-24G
had vista and now win7 32bit
____________________
Retired Employee
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working

Hi,
this is an interresting post.
Here is what I wold do/test to make sure, that all is fine on my system:
- make sure, that you have the latest versions of follwing dirvers/apps installed:
Power management driver
Power Manger
System interface driver
Hotkey driver
Access Connection
- once all the above is met, then you can test if basically the Fn+F5 is enabled, by going to :
%ProgramFiles\%ThinkPad\ConnectUtilities\
and double-click on the file called "AcFnF5.exe"
(I think, that the path should be the same also by G530, if not, then just start a searh for this file)
==> if all the above is correct and after you double-click on the "AcFnF5.exe" the correct On Screen starts, then this might be only and issue of the association of the FN+F5 key, so here is where you can configure it:
- go to following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\TPHOTKEY\CLASS\01\05
and make sure, that on the right side you see following items and values:
"Parameters"=""
"File"="C:\\Program Files\\ThinkPad\\ConnectUtilities\\AcFnF5.exe"
"NACONDITION"=dword:00000001



- once you will not have it confured like this, then let me know, becasue this is basically the triger where the Fn+fx is looking so that it can start the appropriate application.

Cheers

Highlighted
Token Ring
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: israel
0 Kudos

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working

Herik you are great !

thanks Smiley Happy

 

Power Manager- ok

System Interface Driver-ok

Access Connection -ok (i hate the new version, but i tried as well and downgrade to 5.02 back)

Hotkey driver-ok

 

- AcFnF5.exe is in the right path. when i click on it i get the Screen.

- my default registry to the key on the right side were:

"Parameters"=""
"File"="C:\\Program Files\\ThinkPad\\ConnectUtilities\\AcFnF5.exe"
so i added the line

"NACONDITION"=dword:00000001

and now fn+f5 works!

thanks for other users here as well for their effort.

_____________________
Lenovo G530 4446-24G
had vista and now win7 32bit
____________________
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-04-2010
Location: botswana
0 Kudos

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working

Good day, my fn+f5 is not working. I saw a similar post on this forum. I have followed every step given on that forum to the letter and fn+f5 is still not working. my lenovo serial number is 4446-22G. what could be wrong?

Community Moderator
Posts: 13,431
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Česká Republika
0 Kudos

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working

[ Edited ]

@ sj4l2003

re-install power management and make sure you switch the wireless button ( probably front side of your computer )


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-04-2010
Location: botswana
0 Kudos

Re: G530 fn+f5 not working

I have done what you told me to do, it gives me options of "repairing, modifying and removing". I used modifying and repairing on 2 different occasions, but no difference. maybe, you should give me the specific name and website for the driver. the one i installed is from http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/ot/en/driversdownloads/drivers_list.aspx?categoryid=10, with name as "Lenovo Energy Management driver" version 12.0.0.49974. Thanks in advance.