Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo B and G Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

68 Posts

03-08-2010

Egypt

169 Signins

876 Page Views

  • Posts: 68
  • Registered: ‎03-08-2010
  • Location: Egypt
  • Views: 876
  • Message 11 of 17

Re: G550 Ram Problem

2010-03-31, 19:44 PM

oh yes you are right, its because the cpu max Fsb is 800Mhz....., i have no idea why lenovo added a ddr3 ram with a 800mhz cpu, thats wasting the ddr3 clock , if they added the ddr2 it would be better, cuz there is no difference now ....., im really sad i though it would reach the 1066, daarn it! :(, but any idea on rising the fsb of my cpu? any good program you would recommand or maybe unlocking my bois so i can rise this FSB?

 

Thanks for your time.

Reply
Options

2143 Posts

07-14-2009

USA

4807 Signins

93056 Page Views

  • Posts: 2143
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 93056
  • Message 12 of 17

Re: G550 Ram Problem

2010-03-31, 20:04 PM

Sorry, no ideas, overclocking is done in bios, and most

laptops are limited.

 

But, I have read that ddr3 is as fast or faster than ddr2 at

same clock speed. Lenovo has probably made the move to

all ddr3 on newer laptops, and they can get it cheaper.

 

Just enjoy, or sell it and get a gaming laptop with more options.

Reply
Options

68 Posts

03-08-2010

Egypt

169 Signins

876 Page Views

  • Posts: 68
  • Registered: ‎03-08-2010
  • Location: Egypt
  • Views: 876
  • Message 13 of 17

Re: G550 Ram Problem

2010-03-31, 20:24 PM

no no , the machine is awesome and i really love it, but they would add a Cpu that have 1066 FSB or higher, then this mistake would be fixed :), so my G550 would support a Cpu with 1066 FSB?, do you  have any idea about the Cpu Sockets supported and clocks?, Thanks!

Reply
Answer
Options

2143 Posts

07-14-2009

USA

4807 Signins

93056 Page Views

  • Posts: 2143
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 93056
  • Message 14 of 17

Re: G550 Ram Problem

2010-03-31, 21:10 PM

It is Possible, but Lenovo bios would have to support it.

The socket is "P" and the core is "Penryn". Chipset is

"Intel GM45". (All according to screenshots you posted.)

(I think that chipset is called the "Montevina platform".

 

They do make core 2 duo Penryns at 1066, I think they

are the T9XXX series. But I do not know if it would work

and they are expensive. And as I said, the bios would

have to support it, and I see nothing in the latest bios

updates for G550 related to cpu support. AND, Lenovo

does not sell a G550 with a faster cpu than the one you have, afaik.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

40 Posts

06-01-2009

United States of America

60 Signins

376 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎06-01-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 376
  • Message 15 of 17

Re: G550 Ram Problem

2010-05-06, 14:31 PM

Hi,

 

The datasheet:

 

http://www.lenovo.com/shop/americas/content/pdf/notebooks/Essential/G-Series/G550%20Datasheet.pdf

 

... shows processors with 1066 FSB.

 

Also at the end of the processors it gives this hint:

 

(25W/35W PGA) (2.26GHz–2.80GHz, 1066MHz FSB, up to 6MB L2 Cache)

 

You could play it safe with a processor shown on the sheet like the P7350/P7450/P7550 or even try to go outside of that into other penryn's to see if it would work.

 

i saw a thread where a member middleton was helping others enable VT on a Y550, maybe he could do the same for the G550 bios too!!!

 

Thanks,

 

Alan

 

Reply
Options

1573 Posts

04-20-2010

United States of America

4829 Signins

33396 Page Views

  • Posts: 1573
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 33396
  • Message 16 of 17

Re: G550 Ram Problem

2010-05-06, 15:48 PM

here's the difference between my G555 balance vs performance. Balance http://i39.tinypic.com/2hwo4t3.jpg Performance http://i41.tinypic.com/2rravcw.jpg with that I can do this http://i42.tinypic.com/2zf4ohv.jpg

I know mines a G555 with AMD and his is G550 with Intel, but why does mine show more info? And you do need the cord plugged in for the performance to work. (at least mine does)
IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, IdeaPad U410 Touch, and Yoga 3 Pro

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
Reply
Options

1 Posts

03-21-2016

Cyprus

1 Signins

14 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎03-21-2016
  • Location: Cyprus
  • Views: 14
  • Message 17 of 17

Re: G550 Ram Problem

2016-03-21, 7:32 AM

I don't feel like searching for links to verify this but trust me.

I was searching for a cpu to upgrade my lenovo G550 and I found out that i can only upgrade to core 2 duo T9300 or T9500(those are the best options) because the motherboard is locked and the FSB is locked at the frequency of 800mhz, this means that you can install  even a ram at speeds as high as 3+ Ghz if you want but it will only read 800mhz. Now, the reason cpu-z is showing only 400mhz it's because rams nowadays have chipsets on both sides and cpu-z is telling you what 1 side of your ram is capable of( destributing it evenly, so 400mhz for each side because your cpu's FSB can read only 800mhz). However it is a good idea to have double the speed of your FSB on your ram(1600mhz in your case) simply because there will be a wait chain available and the cpu won't need to wait for information to come through the ram and get processed, it will already be there. Keep in mind, even though we are talking about milliseconds(10^-3) or even microseconds(10^-6) and in some cases nanosecons(10^-9) )if the cpu is high end) per operation, it may seem minimal but believe me, as a computer engeneer , it is a pretty good upgrade.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms