cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
DubacekCZ
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-03-2016
Location: CZ
Views: 3,774
Message 1 of 7

G570 - CPU upgrade

Hello,

 

I have G570 with Pentium B960, 8GB RAM, HD 6370m and 500GB HDD.

So I want to make a upgrade, because of new laptops are not so good (It's the same thing as I have)

 

I'm thinking about i5-2450m, i5-2540m, i7-2620m and i7-2630QM (which is QUAD core!).

I think there is no problem with that i5's, they are normally used in g570. But there are the i7's, which one, the i7-2620m is dual core = 35W and the other one i7-2630QM, which is quad core = 45W.

 

Is there chance to have quad core CPU in my G570 ?

Probably I'll don't have problem with overheating(If you know how to increase cooling power I'll be happy if you tell me), but with BIOS or MB support there will be problem. I've upgraded bios to latest version yet.

 

Thank you for answer and sorry for my bad english.

 

mikie
Token Ring
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎08-30-2012
Location: US
Views: 3,761
Message 2 of 7

Re: G570 - CPU upgrade

I've used several CPU's in my G570.   Quads work fine. I'd suggest you stay away from with any faster than the i7-2820qm    I'm using 2820qm now and it occasionally will turn on the rev limiter from high heat moment.. longest i've noticed is 9 seconds .. it reports it in event viewer.   Usually its just one second.    I've watched it often and not seen it over about 39watts in my usages.   Couple pics maybe ...

 

.... I have a i5-???? 2500mhz that runs in it way hot, so it can be dependant on the chip somewhat the heat output.

the i3-???? 2300 that came in the laptop oem ran hotter than these temps showing below on a hot afternoon here its about 87F where im at sitting right now. 

 ..i think at the time i took the original i3 cpu out during winter it was idling at 118F was normal.. the i7 fastest dual core swapped in at 104F that day if I remb right.     That i5 was always hot.   i5's dont have the multi threading,, keep that in mind.

 

Factory really slopped on tons of heat sink compound.   I have a feeling just cleaning off the factory compound and replacing it with a typical Arctic MX-4 or whatever would help any lenovo laptop cool down a good bit.

 

Capture.JPGCapture.JPG

 

Here is SFC /ScanNow & Windows Defender doing full scan and few other programs just open for a look at temps under some load;

Capture.JPG

DubacekCZ
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-03-2016
Location: CZ
Views: 3,731
Message 3 of 7

Re: G570 - CPU upgrade

Thank you for answer,

 

One detail, do you have dedicated graphic card ? Because I do and it's on the same heatpipe.

And I've changed to an Arctic yet

mikie
Token Ring
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎08-30-2012
Location: US
Views: 3,714
Message 4 of 7

Re: G570 - CPU upgrade

No I just have the normal single heat pipe original heat sink.  Only the on chip HD3000 graphics.

 

I do take the time to take top off fan to get those blades clean as i can and sometimes soak the little radiator grill in soapy water, to hopefully keep it doing its best.    I'm a smoker.        I cut the little screen off the intake hoping for a little better cooling but it didnt make any difference.  Now it just sucks in bigger chunks of dust.

DubacekCZ
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-03-2016
Location: CZ
Views: 3,700
Message 5 of 7

Re: G570 - CPU upgrade

Ok, I will think about this upgrade, because now I have 60°C on CPU and the same on GPU.

Now I have just Pentium B960 @2.2Ghz

jahmedrrojas
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-08-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,868
Message 6 of 7

Re: G570 - CPU upgrade

Hi, I have the same Lenovo G570 with Pentium B960 CPU. My question is that can I upgrade to an i3 2310M, i5 2410M or i5 2520M? Are those CPU's compatible? do I have to flash some new BIOS or something?

Tiger8
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-19-2017
Location: IN
Views: 1,415
Message 7 of 7

Re: G570 - CPU upgrade

Awesome !!!! Mikie you have installed 16gb ram, how is it working and is there any heating problem. is there any way to upgrade gpu i am urrently using 6gb ram 120gb ssd next is i want to upgrade cpu which configuration you prefer. tell me

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors