cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
TonyM335
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-24-2018
Location: US
Views: 788
Message 1 of 8

G700 - i5 3230m 2.60Ghz upgrade to any i7 is it possible?

Hello,

I'm the happy owner of G700 Serial# ########

It has i5 3230m 2.60Ghz CPU and i wonder what are theoptions for i7upgrade?

 

Also I'm looking to upgrade RAM, I wonder will this fit my PC and what is the difference between this two memories:

http://www.crucial.com/ProductDisplay?displayCompatibleLogo=1&urlRequestType=Base&catalogId=10151&pr...

 

http://www.crucial.com/ProductDisplay?displayCompatibleLogo=1&urlRequestType=Base&catalogId=10151&pr...

 

Appreciate any help!

 

 

Mod's Edit: Serial number removed from public view to protect member from its unwanted use.

Machine Type Model  59374902

 

System model added to the front of Subject line to improve visibility / clarity.

 

 

jmf1964
Punch Card
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2018
Location: US
Views: 754
Message 2 of 8

Re: G700 - i5 3230m 2.60Ghz upgrade to any i7 is it possible?

I asked the same question yesterday. You wont get any noticeable gain using an i7 over an i5.
They both have the same hd4000 graphics and the 7 is only a few nanoseconds faster.
The ram in your first link is 1600mhz it should work, the second link will not, it is too fast for your laptop.
Swapping in an ssd will get more speed than a processor swap.

 

Mod's Edit: System model added to the front of Subject line to improve visibility / clarity.

 

TonyM335
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-24-2018
Location: US
Views: 736
Message 3 of 8

Re: G700 - i5 3230m 2.60Ghz upgrade to any i7 is it possible?

Hello,

Thanks for your reply!

 

I have used Crucial system scanner to verify correct RAM. So the one that has 1866 speed wont work with my laptop?

Maybe you can give me a couple advise for SSD upgrade since system scaner gives me the wrong informtion about capability?

 

The main reason I'm looking to upgrade CPU is that I bought Falout 76 and it has this kind of system requirements: 

 

  • CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz or AMD FX-8320.
  • Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GTX 960 2GB or AMD Radeon R9 380.
  • RAM: 8GB.
  • Windows: Win 7, 8, 8.1, and 10 64 BIT.
  • DirectX: Dx 11.
  • HDD space: 50 GB.

 

My CPU is only 2.6Ghz but as far as I understand it goes up to 3.2Ghz in boost mode.

That was other reason for RAM upgrade since game works as a retard, but I'm not sure if RM upgrade would solve the problem or I should go further and look for CPU upgrade?

 

Thank you!

jmf1964
Punch Card
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2018
Location: US
Views: 731
Message 4 of 8

Re: G700 - i5 3230m 2.60Ghz upgrade to any i7 is it possible?

As far as fallout 76 goes your cpu is not going to be a problem, but the intel hd4000 graphics will be the real bottle neck, the game will run but probably very slow. You may be better off hunting down a newer laptop with better graphics.

 

 

TonyM335
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-24-2018
Location: US
Views: 725
Message 5 of 8

Re: G700 - i5 3230m 2.60Ghz upgrade to any i7 is it possible?

You are right, it is running pretty slow, I thought the issue may be the lack of RAM since I have 6Gb instead of 8Gb required.

Didn't think the issue can be in graphics, seems like it has required 2Gb of memory?

jmf1964
Punch Card
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2018
Location: US
Views: 720
Message 6 of 8

Re: G700 - i5 3230m 2.60Ghz upgrade to any i7 is it possible?

The hd4000 graphics uses shared memory, it takes it from your ram sticks. My g700 has 16gb ram and the same i5 yours has, and the grahpics are using only 1.7gb of ram.

 

TonyM335
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-24-2018
Location: US
Views: 708
Message 7 of 8

Re: G700 - i5 3230m 2.60Ghz upgrade to any i7 is it possible?

I might be wrong, but my laptop has only 6Gb of RAM, I just opened up a rear panel: 2 slots 2Gb and 4Gb?

Also I'm checking Nvidia controller says I'm using GeForce GT 720M with available video memory of 4095Mb, allocated memory of 2048Mb DDR3 and shared memory 2047Mb, so I'm not sure If I will increase RAM and get 16Gb (2x8GB card) will Falout 76 run smooth or it's not going to help in my case?

jmf1964
Punch Card
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎10-14-2018
Location: US
Views: 697
Message 8 of 8

Re: G700 - i5 3230m 2.60Ghz upgrade to any i7 is it possible?

won't help, the game will not run as intended on anything less than a gtx960 gpu. the gt720m is not even close.

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors