Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo B and G Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

73 Posts

08-28-2013

London

218 Signins

1925 Page Views

  • Posts: 73
  • Registered: ‎08-28-2013
  • Location: London
  • Views: 1925
  • Message 21 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-13, 14:26 PM

Hi topgear.

 

Thanks for the updates on your progress...

 

You say in post #3 that the cpu ran for 9 mins, Is it still running without crashing?

 

Does turbo-boost work with the motherboard chipset?

 

You should go to intel`s official website & download the latest drivers & software for your cpu.

 

There are also various tools you can download to test your new hardware.

 

I know you need time to test your cpu, But keep me posted.

 

Thanks again topgear.

 

Catt

 

 

Reply
Options

64 Posts

09-09-2013

peterlee united kingdom

697 Signins

2061 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: peterlee united kingdom
  • Views: 2061
  • Message 22 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-13, 17:58 PM
hi catt
no not still running the 9 mins was stress testing it fully maxed out it just turns off after 25 mins black screen but on restart no crash reports of it shutting down incorrectly or owt did not look like turbo boost was working but did not need it very fast .
i went to intel and got them made no difference i have put the 2020m cpu back (used last of my paste) to see if it still did it nope ran for almost 4 hrs no probs so either cpu fault or compatibility issues maybe
Reply
Options

64 Posts

09-09-2013

peterlee united kingdom

697 Signins

2061 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: peterlee united kingdom
  • Views: 2061
  • Message 23 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-13, 22:06 PM
found another intel prog to try plus turbo boost seems to need a seperate prog to work i ave found the download for it on intel site so when i get more paste ill put it back in and install them and see
Reply
Options

73 Posts

08-28-2013

London

218 Signins

1925 Page Views

  • Posts: 73
  • Registered: ‎08-28-2013
  • Location: London
  • Views: 1925
  • Message 24 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-15, 3:01 AM

Hi topgear.

 

That don`t sound good does it, Maybe its a faulty chip!

 

Let me know how you get on.

 

Thanks

 

Catt

Reply
Options

64 Posts

09-09-2013

peterlee united kingdom

697 Signins

2061 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: peterlee united kingdom
  • Views: 2061
  • Message 25 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-15, 6:13 AM
hi catt
last night found a Toshiba forum with someone havin same issue with same cpu his shuts off after 30 mins apparently tosh has a white list as well and thats what it does turns it off so sounds like even though it should work as its one that is supposed to be compatible perhaps they have still put limits into the bios to what it will take sly beggars (being polite ) lol
Reply
Options

73 Posts

08-28-2013

London

218 Signins

1925 Page Views

  • Posts: 73
  • Registered: ‎08-28-2013
  • Location: London
  • Views: 1925
  • Message 26 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-16, 2:40 AM

Hi topgear.

 

So the white list returns, I would have thought bios would flag the cpu up straight away as soon as you booted the laptop.

 

Its a shame because I found a i7 3632QM mobile cpu under 150 quid including shipping. Now I wont be buying it.

 

What are your plans, Now that the processor wont run on your pc?

 

Catt

Reply
Options

64 Posts

09-09-2013

peterlee united kingdom

697 Signins

2061 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: peterlee united kingdom
  • Views: 2061
  • Message 27 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-16, 6:10 AM
hi catt
yeah its a shame dont no yet still got it in the machine for now in case anyone comes up with an idea the original cpu would ave been a good one if it had been hyperthreading capable shame
Reply
Options

64 Posts

09-09-2013

peterlee united kingdom

697 Signins

2061 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: peterlee united kingdom
  • Views: 2061
  • Message 28 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-21, 22:58 PM

hi catt
after talking to someone who has upgraded there g480 they had no problems they went from ag960 to a i3 neither have turbo boost they said they stayed with a cpu off the mainanence list that did not have turbo boost as it would not be programed to accept it becouse the motherboard and bios were not set up for it so there are some on ebay will ave to see what finances are and try the i3 -3120m 2.5ghz with hd 4000 graffics and typerthreading or the 3130m 2.6 ghz wich are same gpu specs ass the i5 and same cpu on one and 0.1 less on other

Reply
Options

73 Posts

08-28-2013

London

218 Signins

1925 Page Views

  • Posts: 73
  • Registered: ‎08-28-2013
  • Location: London
  • Views: 1925
  • Message 29 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-22, 2:18 AM

Hi topgear.

 

Yes, The post by lorical.

 

I have been doing some research on the intel website regarding which processors are compatible, But because lenovo have not listed the board name i cannot cross reference it with any CPU`s.

 

Turbo boost wont work unless the motherboard supports it so it doubt it would cause the cpu to crash.

 

We need lenovo to update the bios to support the cpu`s listed in the maintenance manual.

 

So if your reading this Lenovo!, Give us the update we require... ASAP.

 

Thanks

 

Catt

Reply
Options

73 Posts

08-28-2013

London

218 Signins

1925 Page Views

  • Posts: 73
  • Registered: ‎08-28-2013
  • Location: London
  • Views: 1925
  • Message 30 of 35

Re: G700 onboard GPU?

2013-10-22, 12:42 PM

Hi topgear.

 

Regarding hyperthreading on the 2020m, I remember  seeing a list of registers on one of the system info programs i downloaded, So i ran one program PC Wizard again, clicked the processor icon & scrolled down the list in the bottom pane.

 

After several entries listing what is or is not enabled, I came across Hyperthreading.

 

The 2020m is capable of hyperthreading but has been disabled for some reason, Either by intel or lenovo.

 

Strange that.

 

Catt

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms