English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo B and G Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

11-30-2016

HR

7 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-30-2016
  • Location: HR
  • Views: 31
  • Message 1 of 4

Lenovo G500 AMD graphics

2017-03-20, 6:59 AM

Dear*,

 

I have an Lenovo G500 laptop with Intel HD graphics and AMD graphics and have two questions.

 

The laptop is running Win10 PRO

 

1) When I try to insatll the AMD Catalyst with the auto detect software from AMD (radeon-crimson-relive-17.3.2-minimalsetup-170315_web.exe) then the laptop freezes at the end of the installation.

 

Do you know about this problem?

 

2) Is it possible to force AMD graphic card to work all the time and not to use INtel HD 4000 graphics?

 

Best Regards.

Reply
Options

3811 Posts

12-24-2015

IN

2177 Signins

71411 Page Views

  • Posts: 3811
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2015
  • Location: IN
  • Views: 71411
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Lenovo G500 AMD graphics

2017-03-20, 9:41 AM

Hi there, Zero0d         -

 

Thank you for writing in to the Lenovo Forum - happy to have you here today.

 

Something with the old drivers might be interfering with the installation of the new ones. If you're absolutely sure you're running it as an administrator, look for Display Driver Uninstaller 

 

You can force the discrete GPU (AMD) to run all the time, by going to bios and set it to discrete graphics mode. But this will draw more power and produce more heat, however the graphics performance will be higher.

 

Technically, the Intel integrated graphics is always active, although it is not always in use. AMD graphics will turn on and off according to need. Software from AMD called AMD Catalyst automatically switches between integrated (Intel) and dedicated (AMD) graphics, according to the application.

 

Update us how it goes.

 

 

 

 

Regards,

 

Tap that kudos button if I helped 
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! 

Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-30-2016

HR

7 Signins

31 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-30-2016
  • Location: HR
  • Views: 31
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Lenovo G500 AMD graphics

2017-03-22, 6:15 AM

Dear Shashi,

 

You can force the discrete GPU (AMD) to run all the time, by going to bios and set it to discrete graphics mode. But this will draw more power and produce more heat, however the graphics performance will be higher.

 

I only have two options in BIOS:

-Switchable Graphics

-UMA Graphics

 

and non of this two options forces the AMD graphics. The dxdiag under windows always shows Intel HD 4000

 

There is no discrete graphics mode on my Lenovo G500 laptop.

 

Best Regards.

Reply
Options

3811 Posts

12-24-2015

IN

2177 Signins

71411 Page Views

  • Posts: 3811
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2015
  • Location: IN
  • Views: 71411
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Lenovo G500 AMD graphics

2017-03-22, 6:54 AM

Make sure it is switched to switchable graphics & Press F10 to save and Exit of BIOS.

Click here for better understanding.

 

Update us how it goes.

 

 

 

 

Regards,

 

Tap that kudos button if I helped 
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save