cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
manojkumargiri
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2015
Location: Ahmedabad
Views: 2,610
Message 1 of 8

Lenovo g50-45 ram upgrade

I'm looking to upgrade RAM from 4GB to 8GB. The stock one is Samsung. I bought the RAM for the laptop and insert it. Now it is showing total memory 8192MB in boot. But turning on the system takes more time than usual and in System information the RAM was showing  8192 MB total but 3.46Gb usable. And in task manager it was showing 4.5GB reserved for hardware use. The manufacturer is Crucial. What I have done wrong? And please post some RAM links from flipkart or amazon.

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Posts: 2,396
Registered: ‎08-10-2014
Location: IN
Views: 2,584
Message 2 of 8

Re: Lenovo g50-45 ram upgrade

Hi Manojkumargiri,       

  

Welcome to the Forums    

    

As per the query we understood that you are looking for the RAM upgrade for your Lenovo G50-45 laptop.

 

As per the specification of the system this model has 2 SODIMM slots, try to swap the RAM and check. This is to verify if the RAM slot is faulty. Also try to reseat the RAM and check for the issue.

 

Hope this helps. Do post back if the issue persists!                                                   

 

Best regards,                                                          

 

Ashwin. S



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

jiayiLi
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-18-2015
Location: philippines
Views: 2,572
Message 3 of 8

Re: Lenovo g50-45 ram upgrade

4GB RAM is enough to run any OS. You should reinstall your OS and rechech the performance

manojkumargiri
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2015
Location: Ahmedabad
Views: 2,563
Message 4 of 8

Re: Lenovo g50-45 ram upgrade

Already done that. And if I remove the Samsung and put 2 Crucial RAM, the system is showing RAM usable 7 gb which is perfect. But why not with Samsung?

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Posts: 2,396
Registered: ‎08-10-2014
Location: IN
Views: 2,545
Message 5 of 8

Re: Lenovo g50-45 ram upgrade

Hi Manojkumargiri,

 

As you have mentioned that the system is detecting only 8 gb RAM, can you please share the specification of both the RAM as we can assist you in better way.

 

Best regards,                                                       

 

Ashwin. S



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

manojkumargiri
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2015
Location: Ahmedabad
Views: 2,532
Message 6 of 8

Re: Lenovo g50-45 ram upgrade

The issue is resolved by buying Kingston RAM and now everything is working fine.

georgedim
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2018
Location: GR
Views: 716
Message 7 of 8

Re: Lenovo g50-45 ram upgrade

Why then in the handbook it is written :RAM: DDR3L, 1600MT/s MAX 1 DIMM DDR3L, 1333MT/s MAX 2 DIMM

What is the difference?

Carlos_de_Pedro
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-19-2019
Location: ES
Views: 254
Message 8 of 8

Re: Lenovo g50-45 ram upgrade

If your motherboard have only 1 DIMM Slot max speed will be 1600mhz, but motherboard with 2 slots will be 1333mhz, you can put Sodimm at 1600mhz, but it only will run at 1333mhz.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors