Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
radiant_luv
Paper Tape
Views: 1,703
Message 1 of 2

One Key Recovery - Partition and back up - confused

Hello all,

Yesterday I purchased a G550 2958 H2Q. I'm hoping one can share some information. I went through couple of threads before posting this. If this posting is not appropriate here, consider my apology.  I am not a techie and never used Windows 7 or One Key Recovery.

1.  I insisted at the store  for a Win XP Pro installation but store keeper said he can't install and this model doesn't  comes with WIn XP Pro. He also advice me to create a recovery disk to be in the safer side. He said I will required to have 3 DVDs (4.7GB) to get this done. 

2. At home I clicked the program One Key Recovery and click one re

got 3 options - I. Create a recovery disk from an existing image, ii. Create a recovery disk from existing system

iii. Create a recovery disk from factory.

I thought 3rd one will be best and went with it. Next thing I saw that t required 3 DVDs. I went on with it. But to my surprise it was done with 2 dvds. (however information was that it required 3 dvds) ..This is confusing..is everything all right? do i have the recovery disc ready?

3. Next i called up the store guy, he said first i need to create an image and keep it within the hard drive. and then  burn that image to dvd ( first option                             ) - i did this. i got an image in the default path. and then tried to burn the image to DVD and it said it requires 2 dvds. i don't know what's going on. is it normal? or i made any mistake? please advice.

4. As i have been working with XP Pro for long time i am more comfortable with it. If i want to install XP what would be the procedure?