Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo B and G Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

09-30-2014

Ukraine

25 Signins

71 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2014
  • Location: Ukraine
  • Views: 71
  • Message 1 of 5

RAM upgrade: DDR3 or DDR3L for Lenovo IdeaPad G710 59-410793 ?

2014-10-03, 17:06 PM

I searched a lot, but I still can’t find out, what kind of memory I have in my Lenovo.

 

RAM is marked as “Samsung M471B5173DB0-YK0 4GB”.

 

Search gave me different answers. Some say, that it’s voltage is 1,35(V) (as I understand, It is low voltage DDR3L). Others say, that it has 1,5(V) voltage (ordinary DDR3). I even found this one – “Description: PC3-12800, 1.5V, 1.35V…” (hm, some sort of a hybrid? :) .

 

UPD: Image+screens:

 

03.jpg

 

01.jpg

 

and AIDA64:

02.jpg

 As you see on screens - this is probably a DDR3L memory installed. But, I've read somewhere, that DDR3L is actually a DDR2 modified (overclocked or whatever they call it). And I'm not happy about it.

 

So, what kind of memory I should buy? (I want 8gb + 8gb). Can it be simple and well known DDR3, with no 'L'-experements?

Reply
Answer
Options

143 Posts

07-30-2014

poland

139 Signins

3188 Page Views

  • Posts: 143
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2014
  • Location: poland
  • Views: 3188

Re: RAM upgrade: DDR3 or DDR3L for Lenovo IdeaPad G710 59-410793 ?

2014-10-05, 8:40 AM

Check this:

 

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Lenovo/lenovo-g710

 

http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search/Default.aspx?DeviceType=3&Mfr=LEN&Line=Essential&Model=86774&DisPart=&Description=Kingston_System_Specific_Memory_HyperX_Memory_for_Lenovo_Essential_G700/G710

 

or sownload this 

 

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/systemscanner

 

Hwinfo32 will show you what kind of ram you have, pc3l is lov voltage.

Reply

Replies(4)
Options

6570 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29010 Signins

1661633 Page Views

  • Posts: 6570
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1661633
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: RAM upgrade: DDR3 or DDR3L for Lenovo IdeaPad G710 59-410793 ?

2014-10-03, 20:34 PM

Good day.

 

From everything I've read here in the forums, Haswell CPU machines use DDR3L RAM. There are a number of reports of machines not booting with DDR3 installed.

 

Disclaimer: I have no experience with the G710, personally, so hopefully other community members will be able to confirm for you, definitively.

 

Regards.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

7 Posts

09-30-2014

Ukraine

25 Signins

71 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2014
  • Location: Ukraine
  • Views: 71
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: RAM upgrade: DDR3 or DDR3L for Lenovo IdeaPad G710 59-410793 ?

2014-10-03, 23:08 PM

But still, here is an official datasheet, and it says – DD3, no ‘L’. What the hell?

 

2014-10-04_0304.png

 

Lenovo officials, please respond :smileysad:

Reply
Answer
Options

143 Posts

07-30-2014

poland

139 Signins

3188 Page Views

  • Posts: 143
  • Registered: ‎07-30-2014
  • Location: poland
  • Views: 3188
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: RAM upgrade: DDR3 or DDR3L for Lenovo IdeaPad G710 59-410793 ?

2014-10-05, 8:40 AM

Check this:

 

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Lenovo/lenovo-g710

 

http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search/Default.aspx?DeviceType=3&Mfr=LEN&Line=Essential&Model=86774&DisPart=&Description=Kingston_System_Specific_Memory_HyperX_Memory_for_Lenovo_Essential_G700/G710

 

or sownload this 

 

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/systemscanner

 

Hwinfo32 will show you what kind of ram you have, pc3l is lov voltage.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

7 Posts

09-30-2014

Ukraine

25 Signins

71 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2014
  • Location: Ukraine
  • Views: 71
  • Message 5 of 5

Solved

2014-10-09, 20:47 PM

So, I installed DDR3L. Works fine. Thanks everyone.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms