cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
lennew
Token Ring
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎01-03-2016
Location: GB
Views: 7,678
Message 1 of 13

Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

Hi,

I understand that this question has been asked umpteenth time but I just would like to know whether any of you have managed it on the model in my heading, Thanks.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 3,772
Registered: ‎12-24-2015
Location: IN
Views: 7,646
Message 2 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

Hi there, Len   -

 

Thank you for writing in to the Lenovo Forum - happy to have you here today.

 

May I know the Machine type model number of the G50 -80??

 

An panel that uses a eDP (1 lane) signal type can only support up to 1680×1050 with 18 bit color depth, or up to 1366×768 with 24 bit color depth. On the other hand, a panel that uses an eDP (2 lane) signal type supports display resolutions up to 1920×1200.

 

Update us how it goes.

 

 

 

 

Regards,

 

Tap that kudos button if I helped 
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! 

lennew
Token Ring
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎01-03-2016
Location: GB
Views: 7,637
Message 3 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

Thanks Shashi_Lenovo, my laptop model number is G50-80 80E5, it has eDP(1Lane) screen N156BGE-EB1 and it's an ugly looking display, I have checked the HW manual but I couldn't find any compatible eDP(2Lane) screens, I wonder whether B156XTN 04 4A screen(1366x768) will be better than this awful screen.

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 3,772
Registered: ‎12-24-2015
Location: IN
Views: 7,602
Message 4 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

We can't suggest anything here besides an original Lenovo panel if an FHD panel option exists. Anything aftermarket runs the risk of not being pinned out the same. Datasheets would need to be compared for confirmation. And, if the G50-80 is like most modern systems (and I don't personally know as I've never seen one in person) then the panel might be heavily integrated with the lid assembly, making upgrading a challenge.

 

I'd suggest an original FHD panel if one exists. If not then this probably isn't something we can easily solve for the owner.

 

Update us how it goes.

 

 

 

 

Regards,

 

Tap that kudos button if I helped 
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! 

lennew
Token Ring
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎01-03-2016
Location: GB
Views: 7,579
Message 5 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

Hi Shashi,

This is just an update, I am extreamly pleased to announce that I have succesfully upgraded my screen to FHD with the help of you guys and mainly to another member r_js, I got the AUO B156HAN01.1 model screen from German ebay seller, he was very helpful and confirmed that he would send the original screen and not a compatible one.

It was a straight swap and I didn't have to change the cable.

This screen is much better than the original one, very soothing to my eyes and the pictures are very nice to view.

Thanks again for your support Smiley Happy

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 3,772
Registered: ‎12-24-2015
Location: IN
Views: 7,575
Message 6 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

Great that all goes well.

Please feel free to utilize our forums at any time.

Cheers!!Smiley Happy

 

 

 

Tap that kudos button if I helped 
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! 

ubos100
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-03-2017
Location: GB
Views: 7,012
Message 7 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

hello Shashi_Lenovo.
can you help me with a screen upgrade.
i have a b50-50 (80s2000nuk) would like to change the screen to a fhd version, not sure if its possible or not, i have no idea what connection cable it uses or where to find out.
can you point me in the right direction?
thanks
dinux98
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-13-2018
Location: LK
Views: 3,601
Message 8 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

hey lennew, 

thanks to your info, I was able to upgrade my display as well! very happy with the outcome! 

Thanks!

lennew
Token Ring
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎01-03-2016
Location: GB
Views: 3,573
Message 9 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

You are welcome, pleased for you.
ariebombarie
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-09-2019
Location: NL
Views: 1,651
Message 10 of 13

Re: Upgrading screen from HD to FHD in G50-80

I am looking to upgrade my screen as well (G50-80) to full HD but i am not entirely sure it is possible.

Can you tell me what resolution the AUO B156HAN01.1 gives you?

Is this the 1 lane EDP  (1680×1050) or 2 lane EDP signal (1920×1200).

It looks like my display cable (DC02001MH00) is 1 lane EDP.

Thanks in advance!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors