Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo B and G Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

52 Posts

09-15-2010

Israel

60 Signins

400 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎09-15-2010
  • Location: Israel
  • Views: 400
  • Message 1 of 8

g560 cpu & ram question(s)

2011-04-06, 0:23 AM

Here is what SIW (System Information For Windows) utility shows

 

We can see that maximum amount of installed RAM can be 16GB and maximum memory module size can be 8GB.

 

Here is what official documentation shows

 

We can see in official documentation that 8GB is maximum memory capacity and it is double-channel capable.

 

Here is Crucial.com scan

 

We can see that 8GB is maximum memory size and that it is not double-channel capable, but it states that PC3-10600 (1333Mhz) memory can also be installed.

 

Here is Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 M 330 processor's official specifications page

 

It tells that processor can support maximum of 8GB of memory.

 

Here are my questions:

 

1. What is the maximum memory does my laptop support?

2. Is my system capable of dual-channel memory?

3. Can my system also support memory of up to 1333Mhz?

 

Thanks.

 

subject edited & threads merged.

Reply
Options

52 Posts

09-15-2010

Israel

60 Signins

400 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎09-15-2010
  • Location: Israel
  • Views: 400
  • Message 2 of 8

Cannot Understand How Many Cores/Logical Processors/Physical Processors My Laptop Has?

2011-04-06, 0:38 AM

This is what BurnInTest tells

 

This is what SIW tells

 

This is what official documentation says

 

This is what cpu-world.com says

 

Question:

 

What is core? What is physcal processor and logical processor? Do i have dual core or quad core processor? Can somebody tell me why every source tells different?

 

Thanks.

serial number removed for your own protection

Reply
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

Czech Republic

9008 Signins

170464 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 170464
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: Does My Lenovo G560 Support More Than 8GB Of RAM And Is It Dual-Channel?

2011-04-06, 10:35 AM
maximum memory is 8 gb. ( 2 + 4gb )
g560 doesn't support 1333mhz.


Due to my absence, I may not reply your posts and/or personal messages

https://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

Czech Republic

9008 Signins

170464 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 170464
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: Cannot Understand How Many Cores/Logical Processors/Physical Processors My Laptop Has?

2011-04-06, 10:46 AM

it's also importan which sub-model of g560 you have. g560 comes with different hardware options. stay with the official documents.

http://pc.wikia.com/wiki/Physical_Processor
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyper-threading

http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-a-dual-core-processor.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-core_processor



Due to my absence, I may not reply your posts and/or personal messages

https://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Options

52 Posts

09-15-2010

Israel

60 Signins

400 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎09-15-2010
  • Location: Israel
  • Views: 400
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: Does My Lenovo G560 Support More Than 8GB Of RAM And Is It Dual-Channel?

2011-04-06, 19:29 PM

And is dual-channel supported?

Reply
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

Czech Republic

9008 Signins

170464 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 170464
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: Does My Lenovo G560 Support More Than 8GB Of RAM And Is It Dual-Channel?

2011-04-06, 19:37 PM

 

http://www.intel.com/products/processor/corei3/index.htm

 

core image - core 2 image



Due to my absence, I may not reply your posts and/or personal messages

https://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Options

77 Posts

12-20-2010

Slovenia

124 Signins

844 Page Views

  • Posts: 77
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2010
  • Location: Slovenia
  • Views: 844
  • Message 7 of 8

G560 - how much RAM

2011-06-23, 10:39 AM

What's the maximum amount of RAM that can be installed and used in G560? Is it 8 GB as the manual says, or is it more than that (as limited by the installed OS, which e.g. in 64-bit Win7 could be more)?

I currently have 2 modules with 4 GB each. Windows 7 system properties says:

Installed Memory (RAM:) 8.00 GB (7.87 GB usable)

What exactly does the "usable" part refer to?

Also, what's the highest speed of DDR3 that can be used here? Currently mine are at ~667 MHz.

Reply
Options

13866 Posts

12-07-2009

Czech Republic

9008 Signins

170464 Page Views

  • Posts: 13866
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2009
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 170464
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: G560 - how much RAM

2011-06-23, 13:10 PM
maximum 8gb. 256 mb is using by video card ( shared memory )


Due to my absence, I may not reply your posts and/or personal messages

https://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms