English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo B and G Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

59 Posts

09-09-2013

peterlee united kingdom

697 Signins

2061 Page Views

  • Posts: 59
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: peterlee united kingdom
  • Views: 2061
  • Message 1 of 6

g700 shutting down after25 mins after cpu change

2013-10-14, 16:28 PM

hi i got a G700 model no 20251 mobo no 31900003win8.std.mlt, bios version 7acn21ww(insyde h20 rev,3.7 it has a 2020m 2.4 ghz cpu i have changed to a i5 3230m which is on its list of compatable ones it runs fine very quick runs a lot cooler than original cpu problem is  laptop now turns of after 25 mins it will restart straight away nothing from windows to say it has shut down incorrectly or anything else i have updated all intel drivers ran a strees test recomended on this site and ran intels own tester prog any one any ideas i am on latest bios

Reply
Options

3 Posts

01-04-2014

spain

9 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎01-04-2014
  • Location: spain
  • Views: 39
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: g700 shutting down after25 mins after cpu change

2014-01-06, 16:00 PM

i assume whitelisted CPU, I got the same problem with a new i7-3632qm CPU, shuts down after 30 minutes

Reply
Options

59 Posts

09-09-2013

peterlee united kingdom

697 Signins

2061 Page Views

  • Posts: 59
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: peterlee united kingdom
  • Views: 2061
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: g700 shutting down after25 mins after cpu change

2014-01-06, 16:59 PM
no the ones i tried are ones that the maintanence list says are acceptable but but mine only has the intel hm70 chipset which wont run any of the i core cpu s too run any i core it would need to have a hm 77 or maybe 75 intel chip set and as far as i can gather only g700 one with i cores fitted by lenovo have them you can check which yours has by going into control panel device manager and then system devices it should tell you in there bud
Reply
Options

43 Posts

10-28-2009

CHI

227 Signins

930 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location: CHI
  • Views: 930
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: g700 shutting down after25 mins after cpu change

2014-11-06, 15:14 PM

What was the resolution for this issue. I have the same problem right now. Same computer-chipset and CPU.  I heard the "W" word mentioned witch i dont like the sound of at all.  And yes, i was a bit surprised that the 70 chipset ran the i5 CPU.

Reply
Options

59 Posts

09-09-2013

peterlee united kingdom

697 Signins

2061 Page Views

  • Posts: 59
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: peterlee united kingdom
  • Views: 2061
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: g700 shutting down after25 mins after cpu change

2014-11-06, 16:29 PM
it will only run the intel 2020 or 2030 cpu as the hm70 chip set will not run the i core ,it will run for appox 30 mins thens turns off as that must be the cycle time for the chipset to realize that its an i core there is no solution only to either replace chipset with i think a hm 75 or replace motherboard from a one that uses a i core already as some versions of this laptop have i5 cpus in them so not really very practical im affraid
Reply
Options

43 Posts

10-28-2009

CHI

227 Signins

930 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2009
  • Location: CHI
  • Views: 930
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: g700 shutting down after25 mins after cpu change

2014-11-06, 17:15 PM

Thank You, i just looked the HM76 boards-(FRU: 90003042 ) on ebay and for 150$ its not worth it to me to replace the board. The whole thing was only 230ish new(refurbished) from the outlet. So my resolution was to replace the entire computer as this is not mine. We just bought another refurbed model for 350$ ish, this one has the i5/HM76 already. If this was mine i would have replaced it with the 710, right now they are 3 on the outlet and dont have this disaster of mistake chipset.  This chipset should of been recalled, its only 10$ cheaper to mfg than its bigger brother th HM75-76

 

So next week when the new one gets here i will have a spare to play with and see if there is a BIOs modification  solution to this issue although it does seem hardware based to me

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete