Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Beacon, Stick 300, D, J and S Series Desktops
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

12-12-2008

KCMO-USA

5 Signins

62 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2008
  • Location: KCMO-USA
  • Views: 62
  • Message 11 of 18

Re: Lenovo 3000 J115 Memory/RAM Problem

2008-12-12, 17:26 PM

Alan,

 

I personally don't care what numbers the hardware shows, like a broken gas gauge, car runs, UNTIL it's empty!  But what bugs me is, because the bios doesn't report the correct memory configuration; it won't run in dual channel mode doubling refresh times because the machine thinks it has one 2GB and one 1GB memory stick!  I guess I could try another mobo, but if I start doing that, then will Windows not like the hardware change and want me to rebuild my entire hard drive from scatch!  I know from prior expansions Windows can be be unforgiving on major hardware upgrades!

Reply
Options

14 Posts

12-02-2008

Canada

23 Signins

585 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 585
  • Message 12 of 18

Re: Lenovo 3000 J115 Memory/RAM Problem

2008-12-12, 20:13 PM

Yeah I know what you're saying. As far as I'm concerned, the BIOS is busted and the machine is crippled junk. I have dual channel too but I have no idea if the bios is running in that mode or not since perhaps it actually is while saying it is not. After all, it says it has far less memory than it actually has (and it can't even decide exactly by how much), yet the OS can still use all of it.

 

It's as if they never thought anyone would install more than 1 gig of ram, and certainly they never even tested it out before releasing the bios. Now that's so reasurring.

 

Have you informed Lenovo of the problem? Yeah I know, they think its the OS ....

 

If you get a new mobo, then you should reinstall the OS. I've gotten away without reinstalling before, but I don't recommend it because not everything is "plug n play".

 

BTW I've had mostly good luck with ASUS mobo's. The question is can we keep the Lenovo case or is it made to fit only Lenovo mobos?

 

Message Edited by alanb on 12-12-2008 12:14 PM
Reply
Options

21 Posts

03-06-2009

texas

67 Signins

553 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎03-06-2009
  • Location: texas
  • Views: 553
  • Message 13 of 18

Re: Lenovo 3000 J115 Memory/RAM Problem

2009-03-06, 17:13 PM
i dont know what to say i am also running a 32 bit system and i bought http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820141241 those memory sticks and it shows 4 gb ram might be a stick might be defective idk
Reply
Options

9 Posts

10-15-2008

Tucson, Arizona, USA

15 Signins

98 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎10-15-2008
  • Location: Tucson, Arizona, USA
  • Views: 98
  • Message 14 of 18

Re: Lenovo 3000 J115 Memory/RAM Problem

2009-04-06, 21:43 PM

AlanB wrote "Yeah I know what you're saying. As far as I'm concerned, the BIOS is busted" ... Agree 110%.  I have a Lenovo 3000 J115 7387=26U which allegedly will support 4gb RAM.  I have installed dual 2gb DIMMs, and both Lenovo's PC-Doctor and Crucial's memory scanner report 4gb RAM.  HOWEVER the !@#$!#$%!# BIOS only reports 3006mb RAM, and that is all that Windows XP SP2 can see (actually 2.93gb once VRam is deducted).  This IMHO is intolerably crappy support as I bought the system WITH this OS, which should be able to "see" 3.25gb when 4gb are installed.

 

IT IS NOT THE OS, Lenovo, IT'S THE BIOS.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

10-15-2008

Tucson, Arizona, USA

15 Signins

98 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎10-15-2008
  • Location: Tucson, Arizona, USA
  • Views: 98
  • Message 15 of 18

Re: Lenovo 3000 J115 Memory/RAM Problem

2009-04-06, 21:47 PM

wrote:
The 3GB vs 4 GB limitation is actually a x86 issue, not operating system. A 32-bit system can only address 32 bits (4,096). There are a number of articles concerning this - Google 3GB vs 4 GB ram. Here is a link: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000811.html
 
The issue is basically a 32 Bit system can only address 4,096 of memory adressing. However in simple layman terms, the system must address all items on the bus like sound card, video, bios, pci bus, etc. (and the addressing of these items is like using memory).

The J115 7387 untis that are under discussion here are "AMD Athlon X64", which are 64-bit CPUs.  The 32-bit limitation should not apply.  We're looking at a broken BIOS here, one that only recognizes and reports 3gb of the 4gb that is installed.

 

Software which bypasses the BIOS and talks directly to the hardware, like Lenovo's own PC-Doctor diagnostics and Crucial's Memory Scanner, recognize the full 4gb.  But Windows relies on the BIOS and only sees the 3006mb (2.93gb) of reported RAM/

Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-27-2009

Colorado USA

8 Signins

301 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-27-2009
  • Location: Colorado USA
  • Views: 301
  • Message 16 of 18

Re: Lenovo 3000 J115 Memory/RAM Problem

2010-05-20, 23:23 PM

Hi There if any of you want to send me all the nv*.sys files in Windows, and Windows/system32, it would be much appreciated. I am currently running XT SP3 and got stupid deleting video files for Nvidia. Since I have a copy of Windows XT 64bit around, I think I will go ahead and load it. I will confirm that my system (which shows 3GB in Windows) really has 4 GB (what is installed). I think the answer to "broken bios" is that Windows 32 bit will only see 3 GB irespective.

Reply
Options

1573 Posts

04-20-2010

United States of America

4827 Signins

33391 Page Views

  • Posts: 1573
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 33391
  • Message 17 of 18

Re: Lenovo 3000 J115 Memory/RAM Problem

2010-05-21, 12:58 PM
Read this. http://www.geoffchappell.com/viewer.htm?doc=notes/windows/license/memory.htm
IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, IdeaPad U410 Touch, and Yoga 3 Pro

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
Reply
Options

6 Posts

03-27-2009

Colorado USA

8 Signins

301 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎03-27-2009
  • Location: Colorado USA
  • Views: 301
  • Message 18 of 18

Re: Lenovo 3000 J115 Memory/RAM Problem

2010-05-21, 14:48 PM

Great post. Thanks for the update. Again, Thank you Mr Gates

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms