English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo C, E, K, M, N and V Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

09-16-2020

HU

3 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-16-2020
  • Location: HU
  • Views: 15
  • Message 1 of 3

Ideapad C340-14API RAM upgrade

2020-09-16, 21:37 PM

Dear all,

I had a question regarding my laptop:
I've purchased a Lenovo Ideapad C340-14API recently. Now,  I've decided to upgrade its RAM to 16GB.
After upgrade, I see in the system settings that from the 16 GB, only 5,94 GB is usable by Windows, the rest of it is hardware reserved.
How come that so much of my RAM isn't usable by the system? Is there an option to let the system use the rest as well?
 

Reply
Options

11551 Posts

11-30-2015

PH

7029 Signins

739984 Page Views

  • Posts: 11551
  • Registered: ‎11-30-2015
  • Location: PH
  • Views: 739984
  • Message 2 of 3

Re:Ideapad C340-14API RAM upgrade

2020-09-17, 1:58 AM

Hi adizz00,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums.

 

For this model, officially supported 8GB max offering / 2400MHz DDR4, Optional: 4GB memory soldered to systemboard, one DDR4 SO-DIMM socket.

 

I don't think there is any option in the BIOS that allows to change this but you may still try updating the BIOS.

 

I hope this helps answer your query.

 

Regards

 



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs-up icon below to thank them.!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Reply
Options

1 Posts

09-20-2020

DE

1 Signins

5 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-20-2020
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 5
  • Message 3 of 3

Re:Ideapad C340-14API RAM upgrade

2020-09-20, 8:07 AM

I made the mistake to trust the official Crucial Webside. They recommend for this model also the 16 GB RAM DDR4 3200 - CTI16G4SFRA32A.
After installing the RAM in my Ideapad the Screen went to black and no function of the ideapad. I use Bios 1.08
Is their no possibility to upgrade to 16 GB Ram with lower (2400)  maybe when i update Bios to Vers. 1.10 ?
Thanks for reply !!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete