Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mad_Breaker23
Paper Tape
Views: 495
Message 1 of 5

HDD exchange to new PC

I have a similar issue. The motherboard on my lenovo 3000 n200 finally failed after 6 years of abuse, and rather than replace the motherboard, i was advised that since the laptop was so old, it would make just as much sense to simply replace the laptop and swap the HDD. For sentimental reasons etc, i would like to swap it into another 3000 n200. The replacement i have my eye on is listed as type 0769-AKU, and my laptop is type 0769-AUU. I have never tried anything like this before and I'm a beginner when it comes to the technical aspects of computing. will the old HDD be compatible in the new laptop despite the difference in type? what other compatibilty issues should i be looking out for? and if they are compatible, once i drop in the old HDD to the new laptop, what steps will i have to take in order to get the new setup into 100% functionality?

Moderator note:  moved from topic in T61 and older board and new thread started here.

SeniorGuru
Views: 471
Message 2 of 5

Re: HDD exchange to new PC

@Mad_Breaker23 wrote:

The replacement i have my eye on is listed as type 0769-AKU, and my laptop is type 0769-AUU. I have never tried anything like this before and I'm a beginner when it comes to the technical aspects of computing. will the old HDD be compatible in the new laptop despite the difference in type? what other compatibilty issues should i be looking out for? and if they are compatible, once i drop in the old HDD to the new laptop, what steps will i have to take in order to get the new setup into 100% functionality?

The two systems are very similar. The differences are minor, e.g. CPU speed, base HDD size, etc. There should be no problem with swapping HDDs.

As I said above, once you've swapped drives and rebooted, run ThinkVantage System Update to update drivers for those differences.