Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
HCCook
Blue Screen Again
Views: 10,866
Message 1 of 12

Lenovo 300- N200 0769-BMG (Windows XP Pro) failed rescue-recovery from discs

I recently (beginning of February) purchased the above laptop, after saving up for some time...I had 4 weeks problem-free use from it and then, about four weeks ago, one morning it wouldn't start up... it went into a loop of booting up ok  until the windows XP screen came up, then going into restart and going through the same pattern again.

I phoned the 30 day support phone line ( I think it was a little over the 30 days) and the technical support chap told me it sounded like a problem with windows. he told me to take the hard drive out, put it in a USB caddy so I coud save all my school  data (I'm a primary shool teacher) and then send for the restore to factory settings discs.... not having access to a usb caddy drive and not being able to afford to buy one, I phoned the support centre to ask them to send me the factory settings discs... these finally arrived last friday.

I was able to recover my files which were on the hard drive, along with my son's A level course work,  and proceded to follow the instructions for the other 6 discs... the computer copied all the discs but whe it had got to disk 6 it switched back to the blue error screen which had a load of error message stuff on it... nothing else happened, the factory settings were not installed and the laptop now just boots to a black screen which says 'NTLDR is missing, press ctrl alt del to restart'