Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Highlighted
802.11n
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎06-13-2008
Location: Stockholm
0 Kudos

Product: 3000 C100 0761-3GG

I would like to upgrade my machine with a bigger HD. Should I use ThinkVantage Rescue & Revocery program to create rescue media on cd/DVD from old HD, change to the bigger HD and install the factory system on the new HD.

 

Whould this be the process?

Community Moderator
Posts: 13,431
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Česká Republika
0 Kudos

Re: Product: 3000 C100 0761-3GG

you can use easeus disk copy.
http://www.easeus.com/download.htm

about replacing hard drive, make sure it fits into the hard disc space. by the way, planning to buy more than 500 gb hdd?
if so, make sure if your main-board supports

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
802.11n
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎06-13-2008
Location: Stockholm
0 Kudos

Re: Product: 3000 C100 0761-3GG

http://www.easeus.com/disk-copy/help/creating-a-bootable-cd-dvd.htm

 

Since my taget HD is larger that my current, shall I use the above?

 

Any experience?

Community Moderator
Posts: 13,431
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Česká Republika
0 Kudos

Re: Product: 3000 C100 0761-3GG

i'm not sure bootable cd-dvd thing but copying current hdd to bigger one will work.

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
802.11n
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎06-13-2008
Location: Stockholm
0 Kudos

Re: Product: 3000 C100 0761-3GG

2. If the size of destination disk is larger than source disk, after the copy finished, the size of destination disk will be changed to the same size as source disk and the rest space will be distributed into unallocated space.

 

Yes ths but it seems that the copy function does not make use of the ful size of the new disk.

 

ken

Community Moderator
Posts: 13,431
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: Česká Republika
0 Kudos

Re: Product: 3000 C100 0761-3GG

you can create new partition with unallocated space.

http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com