cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
zaxx
Punch Card
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎01-10-2017
Location: TR
Views: 2,026
Message 1 of 6

V310-15ISK firmware update: Runtime error

Hi everyone. Running the latest BIOS update executable under Windows 7 x64 (0zcn32ww.exe) results in the following message:

 

runtime_error.jpg

 

This is almost the same message I got for the previous executable (0zcn26ww.exe). Anyone have any idea on how to circumvent this? Also, can anyone provide instructions on how to backup and flash BIOS and EC under DOS? This would be useful to those of us wishing to avoid doing these operations under Windows.

 

Cheers.

Support Specialist
Posts: 2,948
Registered: ‎02-22-2017
Location: GB
Views: 1,992
Message 2 of 6

Re: V310-15ISK firmware update: Runtime error

Hello Zaxx

Thanks for using the Lenovo forums.

Check the following post, it should help you walk you through how to effectively flash the BIOS properly.

 

Hope this helps, let us know how you get on.


==================================================================================
Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

 

This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Pesszimistának lenni a legjobb, vagy igazad van, vagy kellemesen meglepődsz...
zaxx
Punch Card
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎01-10-2017
Location: TR
Views: 1,989
Message 3 of 6

Re: V310-15ISK firmware update: Runtime error

Thanks for the link to the article, but there's no information there which gets me any further: The updater simply exits with the error I mentioned above. There are also no specific instructions on how to back up and flash BIOS and EC under DOS for this particular laptop, just general instructions on how to flash a BIOS, which I'm already quite familiar with.

 

Cheers.

zaxx
Punch Card
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎01-10-2017
Location: TR
Views: 1,955
Message 4 of 6

Re: V310-15ISK firmware update: Runtime error

Ok, so it turns out that the BIOS updaters mentioned above do not run under Windows 7. I managed to get 0zcn32ww.exe to run by booting from a partition I created based on Windows 8.1 ADK. Both BIOS and EC were updated successfully. Furthermore, the installer also provides the files necessary for a DOS-based update in the installer folder it produces (C:\BIOS\ by default - not to be changed since the update process requires a reboot, the boot drive defaulting to drive letter C: ). 0zcn26ww.exe unpacks the files, but WinFlash64.exe, which it in turn runs, produces an error announcing that it is not compatible with the currently running version of Windows. I produced a batch file named WIN32.bat, which replaces WinFlash64.exe in WIN64.bat with WinFlash32.exe, and was able to flash to the older BIOS by running it instead of WIN64.bat, which the installer launches by default.

 

Funny how these installers are placed in the Windows 7 section of the laptop's support page. I must say the support page is a mess in general. Lenovo really needs to clean it up.

 

Cheers Smiley Happy

 

Edit: On closer inspection it seems the flashing process takes place within BIOS after the reboot, so the location of the files does not seem to matter in that regard. Also, 0zcn32ww.exe does not unpack the files required for flashing under DOS as I incorrectly stated. It's 0zcn26ww.exe which does this. I have attached the content of the folder it produces for anyone else who might like to use these files.

zaxx
Punch Card
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎01-10-2017
Location: TR
Views: 1,945
Message 5 of 6

Re: V310-15ISK firmware update: Runtime error

Is there any reason why the solution I wrote yesterday is no longer here? If so, why is there no mention of it?

 

Cheers.

 

Mod's Comment:  Your "solution" post for some reason triggered the Forum's Spam Filter.  Sorry about that.  The missing post has now been restored. 

 

 

zaxx
Punch Card
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎01-10-2017
Location: TR
Views: 1,931
Message 6 of 6

Re: V310-15ISK firmware update: Runtime error

Ok, it obviously got triggered with some delay as the post was up for a while before it got removed.

 

Cheers Smiley Happy

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors