cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
thinkpad-owner
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Location: Canada
Views: 21,836
Message 1 of 13

V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

Obviously this is not a Lenovo supported configuration and ymmv etc.

 

I needed a laptop with 16gb of ram for some virtualization so I recently picked up a refurb V570 hoping that it would take 2x8gb sodimms.  There was a sale on Corsair ram last week so I ordered a pair and I installed it a couple days ago.  Memtest ran overnight (>12 hours) without any errors and I was able to boot Win7 without any issues.  I've been able to create a vm guest with 16gb of ram (overcommit) and run other apps so everything looks good.

 

Hopefully this helps others contemplating a similar upgrade since I wasn't able to find much info for this configuration when I was researching options.

 

More details...

 

Ram used:

 

Corsair CMSO8GX3M1A1333C9 8GB 1X8GB DDR3-1333MHZ CL9-9-9-24 204PIN SODIMM Memory Kit

http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=64472&vpn=CMSO8GX3M1A1333C9&manufacture=Corsair

 

Laptop model (Future Shop):

Lenovo 15.6" Intel Core i5-2430M Laptop (1066XF6) - Black- English Only - Refurbished - Web Only
1066XF6
WebID: 10189882

 

http://forums.redflagdeals.com/fs-lenovo-15-6-intel-core-i5-2430m-laptop-1066xf6-black-english-only-...

 

Bios version:

Flash BIOS update - Flash from Operating System version for IdeaPad V570
Version 44CN43WW

 

 

 


velenoso666
802.11n
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Location: Australia
Views: 21,834
Message 2 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

I found this site yesterday which says you can install 16 GB of ram in a Y570 which I didn't believe, this site also says you can to the V570, so that site mustn't be telling pork pies!

mulock
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-30-2012
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Views: 21,011
Message 3 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

Also successful here too. I installed 2x Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz Laptop Memory (8GX3M1A1333C9).....no problems at all Smiley Happy

MaXimus666
802.11n
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Location: Dubai
Views: 20,995
Message 4 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!


@velenoso666 wrote:

I found this site yesterday which says you can install 16 GB of ram in a Y570 which I didn't believe, this site also says you can to the V570, so that site mustn't be telling pork pies!


I've had 16 GB in my Y570 since ages...what you never saw my signature???????????? Smiley Mad

ASUS G750JX-CV050H | i7-4700HQ @ 2.40 GHz. | 32 GB DDR3 1600 MHz. Hynix RAM | 256 GB LiteOn LCM-256M3S SSD + 1 TB Seagate Momentus ST1000LM024 5400 RPM HDD | GeForce GTX 770M 3 GB GDDR5 RAM | 17.3" Full HD 3D Glossy Screen
blackfrancis
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009
Location: Toronto
Views: 19,816
Message 5 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

Any theories why Lenovo specify 8GB if 16 works?

justinwebb
Punch Card
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-16-2012
Location: Columbus, OH
Views: 19,790
Message 6 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

Not sure but I have had 16GB for a while now and no issues what so ever

steveoreno
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Location: Halifax NS
Views: 19,232
Message 7 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

I realize you wrote this a while ago.

I have a refurb v570 and have Corsair Vengeance  DDR 3  16GB 1866 Mhz    CMZ 16 GX3M2A1866C9

 

will this faster clock speed be a risk to the computer

Also is your 16 GB in the V570 still operative?

 

Steve

pathfinderNJ
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-08-2013
Location: Philadelphia
Views: 18,737
Message 8 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

I can confirm the I was able to upgrade my V570-1066 to 16GB using 2 of the Corsair 8GB  DDR3 1333Mhz CMS08GX3M1A1333C9 (Ordered from Amazon for under $100) .  Hope it helps me with running multiple VM's

Highlighted
PCneuf
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-16-2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Views: 18,626
Message 9 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

Hi,

 

How do I make this setup work?

 

I need a VM guest? Where do I download this software?

 

Do you believe this can work with 2x8GB of Kingston ram?

 

Thanks

 

Chris

PCneuf.ca

RiuBaring
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-25-2015
Location: US
Views: 12,866
Message 10 of 13

Re: V570 upgrade to 16gb of ram successful!

Thanks for the info. Went to Micro Center and got me a memory kit - PNY DDR3-PC3-12800-1600MHz-CAS11. Installed them. Laptop boots right up with 16G of RAM.

 

Works for me Smiley Happy

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors