cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
TamirMeiri
Punch Card
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Location: Israel
Views: 3,257
Message 11 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

Kef hello,

 

I do not have or ever had any of the mentioned programs.

I use AVG, which is wonderful. Moreover, I have already disabled, uninstalled and completely deleted anything I had, including even ad-aware - still, the same symptoms.

 

Installed the hotfix, will see if it's any help. Thanks for the efforts buddy.

Kef
Token Ring
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-04-2008
Location: Croatia
Views: 3,251
Message 12 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

Next disable transparency, or completely disable Aero, to see if it is related to video driver or hardware.
TamirMeiri
Punch Card
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Location: Israel
Views: 3,236
Message 13 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

both have been disabled from day one with the system, so it couldn't be it...
Kef
Token Ring
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-04-2008
Location: Croatia
Views: 3,226
Message 14 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

Put the Power Scheme on Max Performance...

 

Without knowing which process is responsible for such "stutters", or high CPU\Memory occupancy, I am

running out of ideas...

TamirMeiri
Punch Card
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Location: Israel
Views: 3,209
Message 15 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

Power Scheme is already on Max Performance.

I know buddy, trust me - this keeps me busy and frustrated a lot more than it does for you...;-)

 

At first I thought it might be a hard-disk error - but ran chkdsk like abillion times, it's defragmented daily, no errors no nothing...

Kef
Token Ring
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-04-2008
Location: Croatia
Views: 3,200
Message 16 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

Just out of curiosity, do you have the Computrace agent in BIOS activated? Do you have

any of these files, rpcnet.exe\dll,  rpcnetp.exe\dll or agremove.exe in your System32

folder?

 

What are your Windows Experience Index scores?

TamirMeiri
Punch Card
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Location: Israel
Views: 3,167
Message 17 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

Well, I have no idea what the Computrace agent is...As far as I remember, last time I checked the BIOS, there was no such thing.

 

Agremove.exe exists.

rpcnet.exe/dll and rpcnetp.exe/dll Do not exist in System32

 

My Windows Experience Index Score is 3.1

Kef
Token Ring
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-04-2008
Location: Croatia
Views: 3,136
Message 18 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

Computrace is an anti theft software byAbsolute Software.

absolute.com/computracecomplete/faqs.asp

It has an agent residing in BIOS under Security tab, so check there if it is Enabled or

Disabled.

 

Since you have Agremove.exe, you either have their software installed, or the BIOS

agent became active, Enabled, without your intention. In any way, that is your main 

problem. This software kills the laptop in a manner that you described. It communicates

with Absolute tracking servers, and if you are not connected to the internet, it tries to. 

When it starts its deed, the laptop freezes until its finished reporting your IP and ser. no.

 

 

Highlighted
TamirMeiri
Punch Card
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
Location: Israel
Views: 3,112
Message 19 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

As I am not with my laptop right now, I cannot really check.

However, as I remember from the last time I accessed the BIOS, there was no Computeragent at the Security Tab, hardly a password option... 

Kef
Token Ring
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-04-2008
Location: Croatia
Views: 3,099
Message 20 of 40

Re: Vista stutters, audio\video\mouse lags

It is not a password option. It cannot be selected and is there, last line in Security tab, to inform you on the

present status. It should read: "Computrace status  - Disabled"

If it is Enabled, then there are 5 lines of additional text ending with a phone number.

 

Since you have "agremove.exe" in your System32 folder, then it is either enabled at present, or was at some

time before. Check after you reboot the laptop if you have a process rpcnet(p).exe running. Check also under

running services if you have rpcnet(p) service running. If you do, I am almost certain that this is the cause for

your performance issues.  

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors