cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
koodava
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Location: Canada
Views: 2,303
Message 1 of 7

wireless on 3000 c200

I spent over $100 on a new wireless router for my laptop.

the laptop won't even pick up the wireless when it's in the same room.

nevermind other parts of the house. Anyone else have this problem?

My router is a Linksys.

acadamnica
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-04-2009
Location: Oregon
Views: 2,290
Message 2 of 7

Re: wireless on 3000 c200

First thing, always make sure that any wireless switches on your laptop are on.

 

Does your laptop have a physical switch on the side?

 

Does it have a Fn key combination which enables/disables your wireless?

 

Have you used your laptop wireless before with other networks/routers?

koodava
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Location: Canada
Views: 2,282
Message 3 of 7

Re: wireless on 3000 c200

Yes it has the switch. I have taken the computer to my work. And it does the same thing, it cuts out and

won't connect.

acadamnica
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-04-2009
Location: Oregon
Views: 2,265
Message 4 of 7

Re: wireless on 3000 c200

OK, are you able to get a connection at home or work or anywhere?  Meaning, does it connect for awhile and then lose connection until rebooting?  Or is your wireless not functioning whatsoever?

 

Also, is the Wireless icon below the mousepad lit up or not?  If it isn't then try the Fn+F5 combination (or whichever combination it is on the C200) and see if the light comes on.  The physical switch needs to be turned on for it to light up also.

koodava
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-21-2009
Location: Canada
Views: 2,259
Message 5 of 7

Re: wireless on 3000 c200

It will connect, then in the middle of surfing the net it disconnects.

At times it won't even connect.

The switch is on and so is the light.

 

I called the router company and they changed the channel for me.

But it didnt help at all.

 

 

Could it be a problem inside the computer?

SectorStar
Punch Card
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-22-2009
Location: Oregon
Views: 2,243
Message 6 of 7

Re: wireless on 3000 c200

Its a common thing with this type of model from what I read on other sites, happens to me frequenly as well, its a real pain in the ass.
Highlighted
acadamnica
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-04-2009
Location: Oregon
Views: 2,160
Message 7 of 7

Re: wireless on 3000 c200

OK, this may be of help.  I'm guessing you have already tried fooling around with most of the wireless device settings, you said you tried changing channels.  If you see any options under the Properties for your wireless card in Device Manager which relate to power managment, then try turning all power management off for the wireless card.  Some have said this helps, but it didn't do anything for me.

 

What did work for me:

My wireless was dropping out intermittently and then reconnecting every couple of minutes.  Then I remembered that this started around the time when I upgraded my WinXP from SP2 to SP3.  I finally found out that some internal wireless cards, like the Intel one I've got in my Lenovo, can have some issues with SP3.  Upgrading to the latest drivers is supposed to handle it, but not for me.  I went ahead and reinstalled WinXP SP2 and presto, the wireless became stable again.  Although it also got worse when I updated to the latest Intel drivers.  So only keeping SP2 with older pre-SP3 drivers is keeping my wireless stable now.

 

If you are using Windows XP, try downgrading back to WinXP SP2 and seeing if your wireless is stable again.  If you're using Vista then try searching for help on the web about internal wireless compatibilty issues.  Some more info about this can be found here, hope it helps if this is your issue:

 

http://forums.software.com/softhelp/xp/Wireless-connection-drops-reconnect-SP3-ftopict350263.html

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors