Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

25 Posts

05-10-2009

usa-northern il

54 Signins

264 Page Views

  • Posts: 25
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2009
  • Location: usa-northern il
  • Views: 264
  • Message 1 of 10

3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-10, 5:12 AM
Can this MB support a quad core?  There's one on sale...

 

This is the chipset info;

 

p35/g33/g31

 

If yes,

 

Will this upgrade interfere in the system recovering?

 

This is what I'm considering;

 

Intel® Technology Execute Disable Bit; Enhanced Intel® SpeedStep Technology

(EIST); Intel® Extended Memory 64 Technology

(Intel EM64T) Processor Core 2 Quad Q8200 Operating Frequency 2.33GHz

Number of Cores Quad-Core Level 2 Cache 4MB

CPU Voltage 0.85V - 1.3625V

Thermal Power 95W

Processor Architecture 45nm

SOI Processor Data Width 32-Bit/64-Bit

Socket Type Socket 775 Bus Speed Supported

1333MHz

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

If yes does anyone foresee any problems doing this besides what I asked about?

 

 

 

 

Reply
Options

1419 Posts

10-26-2008

California, United States

711 Signins

35916 Page Views

  • Posts: 1419
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2008
  • Location: California, United States
  • Views: 35916
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-11, 5:52 AM

Download and run CPU-Z.

Go to the "Mainboard" tab.

Post here the specification show for "Southbridge"


\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Reply
Options

25 Posts

05-10-2009

usa-northern il

54 Signins

264 Page Views

  • Posts: 25
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2009
  • Location: usa-northern il
  • Views: 264
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-11, 19:09 PM

Southbridge says;

 

Intel  8280 1 IR ( ICH9R )

Reply
Options

1419 Posts

10-26-2008

California, United States

711 Signins

35916 Page Views

  • Posts: 1419
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2008
  • Location: California, United States
  • Views: 35916
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-12, 4:21 AM

It seems that you have either the P35 or G33 chipset, because the G31 chipset has the ICH7 southbridge controller.

 

Both the P35 and G33 chipsets support Core 2 Duos and Core 2 Quads with a system bus of 1333/1066/800MHz. So unless there is some kind of BIOS limitation, it is safe to say that you can upgrade to a Core 2 Quad.

 

Also, a little information, the P35 chipset utilizes discrete graphics [meaning a PCI-express graphics card is needed] and the G33 has integrated Intel graphics.


\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Reply
Options

25 Posts

05-10-2009

usa-northern il

54 Signins

264 Page Views

  • Posts: 25
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2009
  • Location: usa-northern il
  • Views: 264
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-12, 5:47 AM

The Chipset is;

 

P35/G33/G31

 

 

Does that change anything?

Reply
Options

1419 Posts

10-26-2008

California, United States

711 Signins

35916 Page Views

  • Posts: 1419
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2008
  • Location: California, United States
  • Views: 35916
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-12, 15:42 PM

P35/G33/G31 is a chipset family. This means you have either P35, G33, or G31.

In your case, you have either P35 or G33 chipsets.


wrote:

It seems that you have either the P35 or G33 chipset, because the G31 chipset has the ICH7 southbridge controller.

 

Both the P35 and G33 chipsets support Core 2 Duos and Core 2 Quads with a system bus of 1333/1066/800MHz. So unless there is some kind of BIOS limitation, it is safe to say that you can upgrade to a Core 2 Quad.


This implies that your K100 does support Core 2 Quads with a system bus of 1333/1066/800MHz. That is, as long as thier is no BIOS limitations.


\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Reply
Options

25 Posts

05-10-2009

usa-northern il

54 Signins

264 Page Views

  • Posts: 25
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2009
  • Location: usa-northern il
  • Views: 264
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-12, 20:23 PM
Ok....what clues would I look for in the BIOS?
Reply
Options

1419 Posts

10-26-2008

California, United States

711 Signins

35916 Page Views

  • Posts: 1419
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2008
  • Location: California, United States
  • Views: 35916
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-13, 1:09 AM
That would be something that only Lenovo knows. You can try contacting them to confirm the upgradeability to a Core 2 Quad.

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Reply
Options

25 Posts

05-10-2009

usa-northern il

54 Signins

264 Page Views

  • Posts: 25
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2009
  • Location: usa-northern il
  • Views: 264
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-13, 1:17 AM

Ok fine!!!

 

Thanks.

 

In the mean time, I went with a modestly faster dual core

 

I really couldn't afford the one on sale, but maybe later in the yr if things turn around

 

I can get the quad , cuz it's a bit slow, for multitasking so the question still needs an answer.

 

I'll see what I can collect from the techs and I'll post back.

 

Thanks for taking your time to answer me!

 

kw

 

 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

06-20-2009

Michigan

8 Signins

41 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎06-20-2009
  • Location: Michigan
  • Views: 41
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: 3000 K100 , Options for cpu upgrade!?

2009-06-22, 16:30 PM

Kennwally,

 

Were you able to get ahold of Tech Support on what Quad Cores are compatible?  I purchased the Q9550 as an upgrade, but the computer hangs at the BIOS splash screen.  I can't tell if it's a bad chip, or if the MOBO just doesn't support that processor. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms