cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Jrgamd720_
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-14-2018
Location: US
Views: 1,820
Message 1 of 6

Adding hard drive ideacentre 720-18ASU

Pardon me if I don't fully explain or understand the terminology. The AMD desktop I purchased last summer has 128 GB M.2 SSD + 1TB 7200rpm hard drive. I use the computer mainly for photographs, most are 25-30 MB. I am needing more storage. Can I add another hard drive, while continuing to use the existing hard drive and add a larger than 1TB? If so please suggest a hard drive and can it be easily done. Thank you

 

correction 720-18ASU

Jrgamd720_
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-14-2018
Location: US
Views: 1,630
Message 2 of 6

Re: Adding hard drive ideacentre 720-18ASU

I quess this is not a forum with answers,  so heading down to RadioShack. 

SilentSeven
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-30-2018
Location: US
Views: 1,465
Message 3 of 6

Re: Adding hard drive ideacentre 720-18ASU

I swapped out the 1 TB drive for a larger 3 TB drive without issues.

I was disappointed to find out that that you cannot add a second HD to the unit. There are not sufficient SATA ports on the MB. Also, no addtional power pigtail.
Jrgamd720_
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-14-2018
Location: US
Views: 1,463
Message 4 of 6

Re: Adding hard drive ideacentre 720-18ASU

I thought about doing as you did. I opted to swap out the SSD for the Samsung 960 EVO m.2 1TB. I do post editing RAW photo files, so I went for speed at a greater cost. Good to know you are happy with your HD.

jbviau
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 1,345
Message 5 of 6

Re: Adding hard drive ideacentre 720-18ASU

Hi. Was it hard to swap out the ssd? I took off the left side panel (opposite the motherboard) just now and got a very obstructed-looking view of the m.2 port. Thanks.

supermango
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-22-2017
Location: US
Views: 1,068
Message 6 of 6

Re: Adding hard drive ideacentre 720-18ASU


@Jrgamd720_ wrote:

I thought about doing as you did. I opted to swap out the SSD for the Samsung 960 EVO m.2 1TB. I do post editing RAW photo files, so I went for speed at a greater cost. Good to know you are happy with your HD.


I'm looking to do something similar with my 720-18ASU. Can you please share your steps on how you put in a new primary hard drive (the SSD) and kept the OS + applications intact? I've searched for this online, but want to know what is easy and practical without having to reinstall OS or apps...

 

Thank you!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors