Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

12-26-2007

usa

45 Signins

385 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2007
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 385
  • Message 1 of 31

Graphics Card

2007-12-26, 4:40 AM
I am hoping to upgrading the graphics card on my Lenovo 3000 K100 Quad 6600. Can anyone give me some advise or suggestions as to what my options are and/or what this system can handle? It currently has the Intel Media Accelerator 3100  - are there any pitfalls associated with a graphics card upgrade?


Message Edited by Dobbs on 12-25-2007 08:47 PM
Reply
Options

104 Posts

12-04-2007

United States of America

114 Signins

1989 Page Views

  • Posts: 104
  • Registered: ‎12-04-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1989
  • Message 2 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2007-12-28, 3:14 AM
384MB shared memory .Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X3100 with shared memory THat might be your built in video card. If you dont play intensive games and your computer is running fine.Forget it. Your system has 3.0GB of PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM memory, upgradable to 4.0GB. 3gigs minus 348 mb is 2,7 gigs approx. Vista™ Home Premium may run fine on that.

Message Edited by north450 on 12-27-2007 07:14 PM
Lenovo 3000 J105 (8258HBU)
Lenovo H50-55 90BG

Reply
Options

7 Posts

12-26-2007

usa

45 Signins

385 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2007
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 385
  • Message 3 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2007-12-28, 4:42 AM
I do plan on playing some rather intensive graphic games - or at least hope to.
I am looking at a GeForce 8600GT XXX 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card. It may not be top of the line, but for the money it seems to be pretty capable. If I were to go this route I beleive I would need a new Power supply since the Lenovo comes with a 250 watt and the new card would require at least a 350 watt PS.
Has anyone changed out their power supply? Any advice or recommendations would be appreciated.
Reply
Options

572 Posts

11-24-2007

Mt. Cobb, PA USA

618 Signins

20276 Page Views

  • Posts: 572
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
  • Views: 20276
  • Message 4 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2007-12-28, 16:34 PM
PSUs are pretty much standard nowadays. A good replacement would be a Seasonic S500, or any of the larger Enermax PSUs.
Check that is has enough SLI connectors.
Reply
Options

134 Posts

12-23-2007

San Francisco,California

463 Signins

4498 Page Views

  • Posts: 134
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2007
  • Location: San Francisco,California
  • Views: 4498
  • Message 5 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2008-01-02, 7:10 AM
All right before anyone jumps the gun! I have tried 2 power supplies both coolmax 460 and the 600w and the **bleep** problem is the one connector to the front of the Desktop for the blinking power switch. Now if I just ignore that plug will I still be able to go to turbo mode ,Auto and eco mode?  I want to ask Lenovo for the price on a 400w or better along with that **bleep** cable. Any suggestions?
Lenovo 3000K100 Intel Core2 Quad Vista Home Premium BFG 8800GT-OC 512MB PCIe 500GB SATA HD 4GB PC-5300 DDR2 DVD +/- RW DL x2 SATA Creative X-FI Pro + Mods
Reply
Options

572 Posts

11-24-2007

Mt. Cobb, PA USA

618 Signins

20276 Page Views

  • Posts: 572
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
  • Views: 20276
  • Message 6 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2008-01-02, 14:48 PM
If you are less worried about being 'green' and forget about the Power Dial, you should be able to replace it or add another On/Off switch somewhere.
I haven't seen one of those PCs yet, but any PSU with the same dimensions would do the job.
Reply
Options

4169 Posts

11-20-2007

United States of America

23523 Signins

803305 Page Views

  • Posts: 4169
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 803305
  • Message 7 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2008-01-02, 15:40 PM
eng223 wrote:
All right before anyone jumps the gun! I have tried 2 power supplies both coolmax 460 and the 600w and the **bleep** problem is the one connector to the front of the Desktop for the blinking power switch. Now if I just ignore that plug will I still be able to go to turbo mode ,Auto and eco mode?  I want to ask Lenovo for the price on a 400w or better along with that **bleep** cable. Any suggestions?

 
Watch your language.  While the forum software filter will screen many things out, use of foul language is not acceptable here.


Message Edited by nonny on 01-02-2008 10:41 AM

keep-calm-it-s-a-thinkpad-sm2.jpg

English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество


Jane
nonnymouselenovoff1.gif

2015 X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Slate, T410s, X301, X200 Tablet, T60p, HP TouchPad, iPad Air 2, iPhone 5S, IdeaTab A2107A, Yoga Tablet, Yoga 3 Pro
I AM one of those crazy ThinkPad zealots!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

134 Posts

12-23-2007

San Francisco,California

463 Signins

4498 Page Views

  • Posts: 134
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2007
  • Location: San Francisco,California
  • Views: 4498
  • Message 8 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2008-01-03, 4:07 AM
Ok so this forum is not quite for Adults... sorry, I called and asked Lenovo for help getting the 400w power supply and they do not have one listed. I did put in the CoolMax 600w extreme and am quite happy with it EXCEPT for the one cable that connects the Power Light in front of the Desktop ( the one that makes it Breath Blue,Red or Green) The Power knob  does work but I can't seem to find a connector to power on the light. It is a three wire connector that is red black and purple. Does anyone know of a way to either find a connector to make it work or should  I splice it to a fan power supply cable? Thanks.
Lenovo 3000K100 Intel Core2 Quad Vista Home Premium BFG 8800GT-OC 512MB PCIe 500GB SATA HD 4GB PC-5300 DDR2 DVD +/- RW DL x2 SATA Creative X-FI Pro + Mods
Reply
Options

572 Posts

11-24-2007

Mt. Cobb, PA USA

618 Signins

20276 Page Views

  • Posts: 572
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
  • Views: 20276
  • Message 9 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2008-01-03, 4:23 AM
How was the original PSU connected? Follow those wires back into the old PSU, that should give you an idea.
Reply
Options

134 Posts

12-23-2007

San Francisco,California

463 Signins

4498 Page Views

  • Posts: 134
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2007
  • Location: San Francisco,California
  • Views: 4498
  • Message 10 of 31

Re: Graphics Card

2008-01-05, 21:57 PM
Thanks but after contacting Lenovo about which adaptor that will work with the power dial light I could not get an answer. After research at FRY's I posted a way to get the light back up and running by only adding $5.00 worth of cables. Please see the other posting for the how to. I did connect the New power supply the same way as the old 250w and the Great thing about the CoolMax is that it has a fan on the bottom of the base that will suck the hot CPU air out through the power supply also. I have tried running my System for 24hrs now on Turbo and it still stayed cool around 70 degrees or so (cpu fan not hot to the touch at all) Does anyone know which Graphics card I should get. I am trying to stay reasonable but I do want to play Call of Duty 4 and Crysis with out lag. Any sugestions would be appreciated.
Lenovo 3000K100 Intel Core2 Quad Vista Home Premium BFG 8800GT-OC 512MB PCIe 500GB SATA HD 4GB PC-5300 DDR2 DVD +/- RW DL x2 SATA Creative X-FI Pro + Mods
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms