English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

11-03-2018

US

6 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-03-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 52
  • Message 1 of 8

H530 memory upgrade

2018-11-03, 22:09 PM

Hello,

I have an H530, with the original 8GB of RAM.

Running the Lenovo Solutions Center verifies the 8G, and also tells me the Maximum supported memory is 32GB.

As suggested in another post I visited the following to check for upgrade parts:

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Lenovo/lenovo-h530

 

However teh biggest upgrade listed thre is 16GB.

Am I missing something ?  Are there any devices that can give me 32GB in the H530 ?

 

Reply
Options

619 Posts

08-02-2018

US

302 Signins

2148 Page Views

  • Posts: 619
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2148
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: H530 memory upgrade

2018-11-04, 5:31 AM

Hi mdjm!

 

Welcome to the Community,

 

As per the FRU list in the manual below, it shows that the highest memory listed are 8GB,

 

https://download.lenovo.com/consumer/desktop_pub/lenovo_h530_hmm_20130807.pdf

 

Also, it shows in the specification below that the memory can be upgraded up to 16GB DDR3-1600 MHz (2 DIMM slots) only,

 

https://www.lenovo.com/in/en/desktops/lenovo/h-series/h530/ (Tech Specs)

 

Regards,



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Reply
Options

5 Posts

11-03-2018

US

6 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-03-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 52
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: H530 memory upgrade

2018-11-04, 14:43 PM

Thank you for your quick response.

I was hoping I ocld go bigger, but Ill tak what I can.

My machin has gotten very slow since installing upgrading to Win10.  Even with simep things like switchin browser tabs, ther is a big stall.    The task manager shows and the disk utilization is 100% during those stalls, so I asume that it is swap thrashing.  I hope more memory helps. 

Reply
Options

4426 Posts

01-01-2012

US

8067 Signins

123003 Page Views

  • Posts: 4426
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 123003
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: H530 memory upgrade

2018-11-04, 15:42 PM

Before you do, open 'Resource Monitor', click the 'Memory' tab:

 


The Memory section shows you the processes that are using physical memory (RAM). Sort by Commit to see which programs are most memory-intensive. The higher the percentage of used physical memory is, the more likely you'll be to see high numbers of Hard Faults/sec, best to keep typical used memory under 75%.  A hard fault occurs when Windows has to access the swap file--reserved hard disk space used when RAM runs out. Despite their name, hard faults are not errors.  But if your system is experiencing hundreds of hard faults per second, either you need a RAM upgrade or a process is hogging resources.

 8 GB is usually sufficient for Win 10 and a browser, you may be is seeing another issue.   Upgrading to a SSD may be more worthwhile than upgrading to 16 GB. 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

5 Posts

11-03-2018

US

6 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-03-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 52
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: H530 memory upgrade

2018-11-04, 17:34 PM

Thanks for the info.

 

I opened he resource manager and see thta about 7GB out of 8GM is in use, 1G in standby, and about 200 MB free.

The biggest memory users ar MicrosoftEdgeCP and dwm.exe, at about 1,5GB each.  After that ther are many proicesses, more MicrosoftEdgeCP with about 500 MB, and may chrome.exe with about 50 MB.

 

So I'm over your 70% recommendation now, and at htis point its not really running slowly (the disc access light is not constnstly on).

 

I do see a few (10-20) hard faults per second.

 

Just for fun I opened somthing I use a lot, Quicken.  Now I see hard faults surge to the 100's, but went bak down to none.  qw.exe is using about 200 MB.  Ther is no longer any Free memory, and about 35 MB has turned to "Modified"

 

Does this confirm that more RAM will help?

Is it normal for Edge to have about 10 processes and use so much memory, and chrome.exe to have 20-30 processes ?

 

Reply
Options

4426 Posts

01-01-2012

US

8067 Signins

123003 Page Views

  • Posts: 4426
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 123003
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: H530 memory upgrade

2018-11-04, 18:40 PM

 wrote:

I opened he resource manager and see thta about 7GB out of 8GM is in use, 1G in standby, and about 200 MB free.

The biggest memory users ar MicrosoftEdgeCP and dwm.exe, at about 1,5GB each. 

 

Does this confirm that more RAM will help?

Is it normal for Edge to have about 10 processes and use so much memory, and chrome.exe to have 20-30 processes ?

 


I don't use Edge myself, but while I have seen FireFox runaway to 4 - 5 GB, that is not normal.  Here is a screen capture of what my current, and fairly typical usage looks like with 8 tabs open, one of them Youtube (playing video ups memory usage.)   [Windows 10 1803, latest Firefox, 63.0.1]   If 7 GB is fairly normal usage for you, then you would benefit by installing another 8 GB.   And perhaps below 75% for typical usage is a better benchmark than 70% of max (I'll edit my post above.) 

 

 

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

5 Posts

11-03-2018

US

6 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-03-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 52
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: H530 memory upgrade

2018-11-06, 4:13 AM

Thank you for including a pic of your resource monitor, I didn't realize I can attach on this forum.  I've posted mine below. Notice that your dwm.exe is only about 40MB, where min is 1.5GB.  You also have much more free memory, I have none.  See those peaks of hard faults ?  That is wen the machine gets really slow, and the disc light stays on.  I noticed that during those time a process called "Memory Comperssion" pops up and has 90 Hard Faults/S.  I'm thinking more DRAM and if that dos not help then an SSD;  DRAM seems to be an easier upgrade.

Reply
Options

4426 Posts

01-01-2012

US

8067 Signins

123003 Page Views

  • Posts: 4426
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 123003
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: H530 memory upgrade

2018-11-06, 5:57 AM

 wrote:
Notice that your dwm.exe is only about 40MB, where mine is 1.5GB. 

 


1.5 GB for dwm is not normal, the whole OS should take about 2.5 - 3 GB.  You might try the suggestions given in this article:  Microsoft - Desktop Window Manager using an absurd amount of memory.

 

I also have my Windows set for performance, which saves memory,and reduces CPU:  Optimize Windows 10 Performance by tweaking Visual Effects

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete