English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

11-20-2019

United States of America

25 Signins

207 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 207
  • Message 1 of 11

How to add an M.2 SSD to ideacentre 510A-15ARR

2019-11-20, 4:22 AM

Hi,

 

I want to add an SSD to my PC, but as far as I can tell, there is no M2 slot.  There are 2 SATA's 1-HDD, 1-DVD.  There are also a 2 PCI's, one mini, and the other looks regular size.  What are my options?

 

Remove DVD, and replace with SSD, and purchase an external DVD?

Remove HDD, and replace with SSD, although I would like to keep my HDD?

Is there such a thing as an SSD drive on a PCI card, and mount that.  Although I'm not sure it will boot.

 

Please see photos of MB, and you will see the spot for the M2, but no actual connection.  Also, if I replace the DVD or HDD with the SSD, do I need any mounting hardware or adapters?Any help appreciated.

 

 

Mod:  edited Subject line to correct M.2 slot statement

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

415 Posts

11-04-2019

Philippines

139 Signins

6826 Page Views

  • Posts: 415
  • Registered: ‎11-04-2019
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 6826
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: How to add an SSD to ideacentre 510A-15ARR (No M2 Slot)

2019-11-20, 12:12 PM

Hi 

 

Welcome to Community Forums!

 

The Motherboard that you have on this ideacentre 510A-15ARR as shown on the photo below has 2 SATA connectors (y.green box) for either 2 HDD or ODD on one of them and 1 M.2 dedicated for the Wi-Fi card. 

 

Please double check on the red box. That area seems for M.2 SSD as it says on the label (blue box).

 

If there is no option for M.2 SSD type and  you really want to add an SSD then the only option that we have is replacing the ODD with a SSD SATA 3.5'' (figure 2) not a M.2 SSD Type.

 

Figure 1

 

 

Fugure 2

 

Hope this help answer your query.

 

Regards​

 

 

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.​

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

4825 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8175 Signins

127383 Page Views

  • Posts: 4825
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 127383
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: How to add an SSD to ideacentre 510A-15ARR (No M2 Slot)

2019-11-20, 13:57 PM

Your system does have a M.2 slot for SSD.  And I can see the connector and the required (optional?) plastic bracket in your uppermost photo. 

 

IdeaCentre 510A - all types: Adding a M.2 SSD (PCIe, NVMe)

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

16 Posts

11-20-2019

United States of America

25 Signins

207 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 207
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: How to add an SSD to ideacentre 510A-15ARR (No M2 Slot)

2019-11-20, 17:22 PM

Yes!!!!

 

You guys are absoutly correct.  I see now that it is an M2 connector in the upper right.  It's just hard to notice unless you look close, and see it at an angle.

 

Thanks so much.

 

By the way, who gets credit for the solution lol?

Reply
Options

16 Posts

11-20-2019

United States of America

25 Signins

207 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 207
  • Message 5 of 11

Ideacentre 510A-15ARR M.2 Screw Size?

2019-11-23, 3:51 AM

Hi, I hate to be a pain about such a silly question but....

 

What size M.2 srew size do I use for this pc.  I don't find that info in the maintenance manual, and from what I read, there are different sizes?

 

I got A Samsung 970 EVO

 

Thanks...

Reply
Options

16 Posts

11-20-2019

United States of America

25 Signins

207 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 207
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: Ideacentre 510A-15ARR M.2 Screw Size?

2019-11-23, 4:30 AM

Found my own answer lol.  If you look very very very closely at where the end of thme SDD lays, there is a small plastic plug attached to the plastic base by a thin plastic cable.  It first I though it was a small open cable tie...but then I took a pic with my phone, and magnifed it 20X...and there it was!  Not a screw...but a plug!!!

 

Thank all....

Reply
Options

0 Posts

01-16-2020

United States of America

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎01-16-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 11

M2. slot in a 510A

2020-01-17, 18:00 PM

I am trying to put a EVO 970 in My 510A.   The board has a M.2 slot but it hangs off the edge of the board with nothing to secure it?  I think I may be missing something?

Reply
Options

4825 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8175 Signins

127383 Page Views

  • Posts: 4825
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 127383
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: M2. slot in a 510A

2020-01-17, 20:32 PM

It needs a plastic bracket (seen in the upper most photo above.)  You'll have to search for the part number (I don't have this system, but perhaps someone who does can share this part number.) 

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

0 Posts

01-16-2020

United States of America

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎01-16-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 0
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: M2. slot in a 510A

2020-01-17, 23:28 PM

Well I found a part that looks like it but it says

"ThinkCentre M.2 SSD Kit is compatible with the following ThinkCentres:

ThinkCentre M Series Deskto: M710 Desktop, M715 Desktop, M910 Desktop ThinkCentre M Series Towers: M710 Tower, M910 Tower"

 

No 500?

 

Thanks

Reply
Options

2 Posts

05-06-2020

United States of America

2 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎05-06-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10
  • Message 10 of 11

Re:How to add an M.2 SSD to ideacentre 510A-15ARR

2020-05-08, 9:55 AM
The bracket is the black piece right? Sorry super new to building haha
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms