cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
TexAce
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-16-2018
Location: US
Views: 6,159
Message 1 of 18

IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - how to add M.2 SSD (970 Evo)

I am also interesting in adding an SSD and make it my bootable drive.  I have found some discussion that the AMD board can support an M.2 NVMe SSD.  I found the PCIe slot circled in the picture.  What I cannot figure out is how to secure the other side of the drive once installed.  Typically, these drives are inserted at an angle and then screwed down on the motherboard, but the drive would just hang off the side of the board without any place to anchor it.  Any ideas?motherboard.jpg

 

Mod:  edited Subject line to add detail about SSD

 

 

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,272
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 6,020
Message 2 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

Hi TexAce,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums.

 

On 720 machines that came in with M.2 NVME SSD, it have a SSD bracket assembly (part number 01EF905 - M.2 SSD Brkt Assy 213mm MB) that would allow it to screw in to secure the SSD as shown in the image below.

 

SSD bracket.jpgM.2 SSD Brkt Assy(213mm MB)

Others folks just taped it with an electrical tape with strong adhesive as a DIY alternative for the moment

 

Hope this helps answer your query.

 

 

Regards

 



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

TexAce
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-16-2018
Location: US
Views: 5,997
Message 3 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

Thanks for the assistance spidey.  I will order the part and takes some photos when I do the install and post them here.

CiaranOR
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-24-2018
Location: IE
Views: 5,956
Message 4 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

Hi,

 

I too would like to add a SSD to my 720ASU, this seems like the perfect solution but the part is no longer in stock and won't be until July at the earliest (assuming it comes back in stock).  Is there another part / bracket that would also work???  I'm not sure about the electrical tape fix...

 

Thanks in advance for the help

C.

 

TexAce
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-16-2018
Location: US
Views: 5,774
Message 5 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

I was able to successfully install the FRU part you referenced and then a Samsung 970 EVO 250 GB drive.  It is blazing fast.  I have included a photo of the installed drive.  A few things I experienced:

 

  • It wasn't obvious to me which way the FRU part needed to be installed at first.  For anyone trying to install it, the thinest part of the mount goes towards the motherboard.
  • There are two pin locations on the FRU part, but only the pin furthest from the motherboard is needed for a nvme drive.
  • Samsung provides a cloning software to migrate your boot drive to the SSD.  It was very easy to use.
  • After migrating and booting from the SSD, my old HDD was not reassigned a new drive letter due to a signature collision between the new and old drives.  I had to go into Disk Management, righ click on the old disk and select "online."  This magically resolved the collision and assigned the drive a new letter.

I'd say the entire process took 1.5 hours with at least half that time trying to figure out the disk collision issue and then setting up/running disk backups.

nvme install.jpg

 

 

 

LsD77
Paper Tape
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-05-2018
Location: US
Views: 5,705
Message 6 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

I gave up on getting the Lenovo mount. So I came up with my own solution. I just drilled a tiny hole in that layer of metal on the chassis and screwed down a block of plastic. Then I put a screw in the half round notch at the end of the m.2 into the block of plastic. May not be very elegant, but it was free and immediately available.

 

Now can someone please tell me how to get the machine to recognize the drive?! I was simple minded enought to think it was plug and play. I went in to the BIOS and couldn't see any where to enable m.2? The drive doesn't appear in my BIOS or in Windows. Smiley Sadm.2SSD_mount.jpg

LsD77
Paper Tape
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-05-2018
Location: US
Views: 5,700
Message 7 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

I formatted it and now it shows up in WIndows. Still doens't show up in BIOS?

 

Now I just have to figure out how to migrate everything to it so it can be my boot drive.

LsD77
Paper Tape
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-05-2018
Location: US
Views: 5,693
Message 8 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

Nevermind (facepalm)...

 

All good.

 

I cloned the HDD to the m.2, fixed my boot sequence in BIOS, and got everything going.

 

I gave the Windows partitiion on the m.2 200GB and made an (ASmiley Happy drive of 215GB that I can install other programs on.

 

And ofcourse I copied all o fthe other small (recovery, backup, Lenovo, etc) partitions over.

 

I used Macruim Reflect. Super Easy!

 

Man does this thing start up fast now!!!

TexAce
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-16-2018
Location: US
Views: 5,690
Message 9 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

I'm fairly sure you would not have gotten as far as you have if the drive was not being detected in the BIOS. If you're BIOS was set up like mine, the boot order already puts the m.2 slot before the HDD.  In other words, once you clone your boot drive to the ssd, that is what windows will not from. There is a Samsung migration software you can use to clone your boot disk to the ssd (get it from their website along with the magician software and drivers). Another option for migration is EaseUS todo backup free. There are video guides on how to use this to clone a disk. 

CiaranOR
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-24-2018
Location: IE
Views: 5,689
Message 10 of 18

Re: IdeaCentre 720 AMD Ryzen 7 - Upgrading RAM and SSD

I also managed to get the ssd installed successfully. Couldn’t source the adapter anywhere so I just tried plugging in the ssd and it worked, seems fairly rigid .  Booted up the PC a few times with it as my D drive and had no issues copying files on and off it.  Then tried using EaseUS cloning software. That was a waste of time, nothing but errors... then gave Macrium Reflect a shot, it worked first time and I haven’t had an issue since. Super bit of software... thanks to all on this forum for help and advice... 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors