English Community

Gaming – Lenovo LegionGaming Desktops
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

12-27-2020

IE

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2020
  • Location: IE
  • Views: 10
  • Message 1 of 11

Legion 7T - no XMP?

2020-12-27, 0:41 AM

Greetings from Ireland folks, and happy holidays while I'm at it!

New to the forum, and the reason I'm here is because I'm facing a head scratcher that I hope someone can enlighten me on. Cut the long story short, I got myself the latest Lenovo Legion T7 purely for gaming - so far so good, it's running sweet. The specs are here.

At any rate, the desktop came with 16Gb 3200 Mhz with very high latency CL22, and given this challenge I'd like to upgrade to 64Gb 3200Mhz Hyper X, 4x16 modules, with CL16. From the olden days I knew I may need to adjust the timings and voltages in XMP - what I did not realize is that Legion doesn't  seem to provide this capability in BIOS as I can't see it anywhere? The challenge is that without XMP the replacement memory will be bottlenecked @ 2400Mhz, and the reason why I seek the upgrade is because the 3200Mhz sticks that Lenovo supplied are rather slow due to latency. The question I have: do Lenovo have any options / plans to enable XMP on those latest Z490 mo-bo in the 7T? I'll appreciate your guidance / advice as frankly I'm considering returning this baby - I don't fancy the idea of spending $3k on otherwise awesome build that comes with such a heart breaking limitation.  I could use some clarity on this - thanks in advance for your time & consideration!

Reply
Options

890 Posts

04-23-2019

US

435 Signins

14057 Page Views

  • Posts: 890
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 14057
  • Message 2 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-13, 18:02 PM

Hello @miko1aj,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums.

 

XMP profiling option may not be available on your model variant specially if you have already updated the BIOS. It would automatically adjust it value as preset on the same BIOS provided in your variant.

 



Hope this helps.
Regards,
Jack_Lenovo1



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-27-2020

IE

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2020
  • Location: IE
  • Views: 10
  • Message 3 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-13, 18:09 PM

Hi @Jack_Lenovo1 ,

 

Thanks for your feedback. I did not update BIOS, that's how my build arrived - is there any way for you to check / verify if  the Legion_T7 34IMZ5 will have XMP enabled at some point? It's hard to believe a freshly designed gaming tower which otherwise comes with all bells and whistles does not support such basic capability like XMP.

Reply
Options

890 Posts

04-23-2019

US

435 Signins

14057 Page Views

  • Posts: 890
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 14057
  • Message 4 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-13, 18:24 PM

Hello @miko1aj,

 

Thanks for writing back.

 

We can only provide information that is already available in our support site as certified BIOS for your machine.

 

You may use the feedback button from our support site to request for any additional options you would like to have or see in the future.

 

https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/

 

 

Hope this helps,

Jack_Lenovo1



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-27-2020

IE

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2020
  • Location: IE
  • Views: 10
  • Message 5 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-13, 18:37 PM

Thanks @Jack_Lenovo1 , I take it as a polite answer that "no, we're not promoting XMP". 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-17-2021

US

3 Signins

110 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2021
  • Location: US
  • Views: 110
  • Message 6 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-17, 18:43 PM

This is rather upsetting because I was planning on getting a four stick kit of G.Skill to upgrade the RAM as well. This needs to be addressed.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-27-2020

IE

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2020
  • Location: IE
  • Views: 10
  • Message 7 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-17, 19:22 PM

I agree Matt, but not sure if anybody listens or cares for that matter... The only potential upgrade, as far as I could find, is to purchase Hyper X 2400mhz sticks with CL15 which may provide slightly faster performance, in theory. 

Reply
Options

7 Posts

01-01-2021

US

12 Signins

85 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2021
  • Location: US
  • Views: 85
  • Message 8 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-17, 21:20 PM

They don't care, not even the "premium support technicians." Some people have suggested to manually set the frequency/voltage, but I've never done that before, and I'm not even sure if that option will be available given the locked BIOS.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-17-2021

US

3 Signins

110 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2021
  • Location: US
  • Views: 110
  • Message 9 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-17, 21:44 PM
Yeah, a small performance upgrade, if any. Jealous to see that you got a 7i with a 30 series card, though. They're only offering 20 series now. Out of curiosity, do your lighting profiles on Vantage reset when you restart your computer?
Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-27-2020

IE

4 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2020
  • Location: IE
  • Views: 10
  • Message 10 of 11

Re:Legion 7T - no XMP?

2021-01-17, 22:31 PM

Yep, it is a pity as otherwise it's a cracking machine. There's no option to manually adjust the voltage or timing, so unless BIOS gets unlocked I thinks that's it. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms