English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

11-13-2018

US

2 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-13-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 30
  • Message 1 of 6

Lenovo Ideacentre 720 and monitor

2018-11-13, 19:10 PM

Help! No matter what monitor (HDMI or VGA) I connect to this wonderful desktop, I get a 'no signal' reading.

What is going on? Is it because the desktop is a Ryzen and not an Intel?

Please help.

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

619 Posts

08-02-2018

US

302 Signins

2148 Page Views

  • Posts: 619
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2148
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Lenovo Ideacentre 720 and monitor

2018-11-14, 2:30 AM

Hi kidztchr7!

 

Welcome to the Community,

 

Is this the first time your going to set up an external monitor to your desktop, or it works before and suddenly experiencing issues? Is the external monitor connected to the upper vertical HDMI / VGA port or the below horizontal HDMI / VGA port? You may also share us the machine type model for us to further check the specification.

 

Regards,



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-13-2018

US

2 Signins

30 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-13-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 30
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Lenovo Ideacentre 720 and monitor

2018-11-14, 17:37 PM
Hector:
You are a GENIUS! I had the HDMI plugged into the top vertical plug. When I plugged it into the lower horizontal one, it worked perfectly. Not sure I understand why, but THANK YOU so much! Now I can keep and enjoy this wonderful Ryzen 7 desktop!!!
Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-11-2019

US

1 Signins

8 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-11-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 8
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Lenovo Ideacentre 720 and monitor

2019-08-11, 12:59 PM

I've tried every combination to get two monitors to work, except for the display port because I don't have a cable for that.  

I've tried the HDMI on the top, vertical port with a vga cable and neither display is detected.  I've even tried adjusting the display in the BIOS to force it with no luck. 

I've tried the HDMI on the lower, horizontal ports with the VGA, and only the HDMI works. 

Do I have a bad board on the top, vertical ports?

Thanks!

Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-11-2019

US

1 Signins

8 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-11-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 8
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Lenovo Ideacentre 720 and monitor

2019-08-11, 13:13 PM
Nevermind, it was a DVI connection on the lower, horizontal ports, and I just got it to work. Maybe I didn't push the cable in far enough before...
Reply
Options

4443 Posts

01-01-2012

US

8073 Signins

123198 Page Views

  • Posts: 4443
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 123198
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: Lenovo Ideacentre 720 and monitor

2019-08-11, 13:58 PM

If there are lower horizontal video ports, they are on a Nvidia or AMD graphics card, which provides higher performance than does the integrated graphics, and therefore the integrated graphics and the upper vertical ports are disabled. 

 

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete