Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

195 Posts

04-15-2008

USA

971 Signins

5852 Page Views

  • Posts: 195
  • Registered: ‎04-15-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 5852
  • Message 1 of 11

Recover / ReInstall only certain components from Original Factory Settings

2008-05-05, 15:47 PM
Hi, I assume that this was asked before but I could not find a POSt and I don't believe that this message board has a SEARCH function so I will ask (probably re-ask) it again.
I would like to reinstall System Update and do NOT want top reinstall anything else.
Is this possible and if so, please advise how I can do this?
Thank you,
Bob
Reply
Options

2827 Posts

02-23-2008

United States of America

10663 Signins

147393 Page Views

  • Posts: 2827
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 147393
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: Recover / ReInstall only certain components from Original Factory Settings

2008-05-05, 16:17 PM
yes i think you can if you want to upgrade your os once again without loosing your data i presume i will be having thsae two settings in the recovery environment

1.express install
2.complete install

the express install only reisntalls the OS leaving the files intact but make sure you have rescue and recvovery environment
Reply
Options

4169 Posts

11-20-2007

United States of America

23523 Signins

803305 Page Views

  • Posts: 4169
  • Registered: ‎11-20-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 803305
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: Recover / ReInstall only certain components from Original Factory Settings

2008-05-05, 16:23 PM
Boblink wrote:
Hi, I assume that this was asked before but I could not find a POSt and I don't believe that this message board has a SEARCH function
 
Yes, it does.  It's on the Main screen just above the board listings and is a box with blue button labeled Search.


keep-calm-it-s-a-thinkpad-sm2.jpg

English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество


Jane
nonnymouselenovoff1.gif

2015 X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Slate, T410s, X301, X200 Tablet, T60p, HP TouchPad, iPad Air 2, iPhone 5S, IdeaTab A2107A, Yoga Tablet, Yoga 3 Pro
I AM one of those crazy ThinkPad zealots!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

195 Posts

04-15-2008

USA

971 Signins

5852 Page Views

  • Posts: 195
  • Registered: ‎04-15-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 5852
  • Message 4 of 11

: Recover / ReInstall only certain components from Original Factory Settings

2008-05-06, 6:56 AM
Thank you nonny for helping with SEARCH, I did not find a solution to my problem (answer to my question) so I still need assistance in understanding if you can perform a PARTIAL RECOVERY that is only select yo RECOVER certain programs in this case  only recover Systsem Update?
Thank you,
Bob
Reply
Options

2827 Posts

02-23-2008

United States of America

10663 Signins

147393 Page Views

  • Posts: 2827
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 147393
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: Recover / ReInstall only certain components from Original Factory Settings

2008-05-06, 18:30 PM
why dont you download resuce and recover software for your system then...uninstall the current version
Reply
Options

195 Posts

04-15-2008

USA

971 Signins

5852 Page Views

  • Posts: 195
  • Registered: ‎04-15-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 5852
  • Message 6 of 11

Recover / ReInstall only certain components from Original Factory Settings

2008-05-06, 19:37 PM
Thank you for your suggestion Samavedam, it sounds like an excellent plan except nothing is easy with Lenovo.
First, I am not sure which of the Rescue & Recover files is applicable to the Lenovo 300 K100 unit that I own further, I am not quite sure WHAT unit I have (I POSTED a note on this subject and so far no one has been able to help) and when I go to the Lenovo Website, the only thing that is available for a 300 K100 is 3000 K100 Machine Type 5301
which may or may not be applicable to my system since BIOS (I also have a POST on this subject) advises me that my Machine Type Model is 87022. So like I said, nothing with Lenovo seems to be easy and if you have any thoughts / suggestions / advice / .... I surely would appreciate it.
Thanks,
Bob
Reply
Options

2827 Posts

02-23-2008

United States of America

10663 Signins

147393 Page Views

  • Posts: 2827
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 147393
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: Recover / ReInstall only certain components from Original Factory Settings

2008-05-08, 6:55 AM
hey i did find your machine model(hope i did!!) here's another plan iam gonna gie u the link to the automated solutions from lenovo which will give you detailed system information if even this doenst solve your dilema then i would say post a PM to MARK thats the only option you have got now

here is the link for the automated solutions which will help you determine your system information

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-39417.html

you must have internet explorer 5.5 in order to use automated solutions

Message Edited by samavedam_vijay on 05-08-2008 12:34 PM
Reply
Options

195 Posts

04-15-2008

USA

971 Signins

5852 Page Views

  • Posts: 195
  • Registered: ‎04-15-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 5852
  • Message 8 of 11

Still can NOT Identify my system even with Lenovo Automated Solutions

2008-05-08, 9:03 AM
Hello Samavedam, thanjk you for your perserverance, you appear to be just as stuborn as I and DON'T want to give up!
Unfortuantely Lenovo is a tough nut to crack and even with ALL youtr help, I am still unable to IDENTIFY my system.

I thought that the links that you sent me would do the trick but I get stuck / hung up on the Automatically Check for Updates page (see below)

https://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/access/aslibmain/aslib/asLibrary.jsp?mt=Unkn&os=Windows+6.0+Home&lang=en&asid=#

http://forums.lenovo.com/lnv/board/post?board.id=H_Series_Lenovo_3000&message.reply_to_id=772


I am using IE and I installed the ActiveX add-pns but I can't seem to get beyong the links above.
BTW, I did send Mark Lenovo a PM and am awaiting his reply.
Thank you so much fot ALL your help Samavedam,
Bob
Reply
Options

2827 Posts

02-23-2008

United States of America

10663 Signins

147393 Page Views

  • Posts: 2827
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 147393
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: Still can NOT Identify my system even with Lenovo Automated Solutions

2008-05-08, 15:22 PM
hi bob
i appreciate your message i think i have found what the situation is all about here goes

all you people are using lenovo k-100 series but have no clue as to which model you are using

as i found out after browsing many websites of lenovo from many countries (india,south africa,australia,austria and germany) i have concluded that the k-100 series has a different model of k-100 for these countries in terms of system configuration the problem is
that k-100 doesnt come with a standard configuration i reckon u can customize it if you bring it from office depot thats y any one of us are not able to obtain model numbers for our systems

iam saying this coz i use lenovo-3000h series system(model:8789q61) i found out that the specs of my system in INDIA are similar to the same model available in the UNITED STATES with may be a bit of change as i have sujjested in my previous posts its all gotta do with your system configuration i reckon thats why you people arnt able to get the correct model...you also mentioned that R&R is not working properly its dodgy sort of a thing(base backup problem....why dont all persons using k-100 complain somthing to mark all of you together..its nuthing sort of a rebellion i guess!!may be lenovo should be given info on this matter on a serious note.....

ps:yeah i am stubborn on this matter!!but iam a computer geek too so it intersts me a lot to help you guys!!
Reply
Options

195 Posts

04-15-2008

USA

971 Signins

5852 Page Views

  • Posts: 195
  • Registered: ‎04-15-2008
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 5852
  • Message 10 of 11

Lenovo, you've got a PROBLEM!

2008-05-08, 16:08 PM
I would like to thank you Samavedam for figuring out this mess, I have no evidence to support this but my guess is that Lenovo is trying to enter the Home User market with the 3000 K-100 product and realeased it without "think thru" all the ramification so this is a like a Beta test for them (i.er. a learning experience).
In any event, I know understand why I (and I assume other Lewnovo 300 K100 users) have had SO MUCH trouble identifying the System Type  and yes,  I believe that Lenovo SHOULD fix this problem, hopefully someone from Lenovo is monitoring these threads
and pass the information on to the appropriate Lenovo department for ACTION!
Again, I would like to thank you again for ALL your help Samavedam,
Bob
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms